Exploring bits of the mining past (part 4 - final)

After all this time I spent in the woods through the previous parts I feel like I've seen it all so I start going down the mountain. Little I knew about what's more to see but.. wait for it.

I am walking in the pine forest of Sounio and this is a representative image of how these trees suffer from caterpillars around this time:
DSC_0136.JPG

You can't believe how tough this thing is even though it looks like vulnerable spider web. Took me several strikes with a stick to bring it down despite its weight.

The first cuties of Spring are a more attractive image for sure:
DSC_0139.JPG

DSC_0137.JPG

Not all people here come with the best intentions:
DSC_0138.JPG

That red thing is a bullet casing and comes from a hunter's riffle. Hunting is prohibited in this National Park but people are far from fundamentally decent.

A bit of rock art on this "swiss cheese" rock formation:

DSC_0141.JPGDSC_0142.JPG

DSC_0140.JPG

Especially this one looks like hand crafted though it's not:
DSC_0143.JPG

DSC_0144.JPG

As I walk all alone in the woods down in a plain I here a hiss coming from my right. Suspecting a snake I turn around and I see this frightened turtle instead:
DSC_0145.JPG

The funny thing is that if her defence instinct wasn't triggered she would have gone unnoticed by me so it actually worked vice versa. Luckily for her I'd be the last to do her any harm. Instead I walk on to enjoy more Spring beauties:
DSC_0146.JPG

DSC_0147.JPG

And of course the pine trees which are beautiful all through the year contrasting the blue sky with their intense green:
DSC_0148.JPG

As I walk back to my car I cross an area that is dense in holes like no other around. Seriously, you have good chances to fall in one of them if you walk carelessly around here:
DSC_0151.JPG

DSC_0152.JPG

DSC_0149.JPG

DSC_0154.JPGDSC_0155.JPG

DSC_0153.JPG

DSC_0157.JPGDSC_0158.JPG

DSC_0156.JPG

Did you lose counting? Crazy eh? That's beyond Swiss cheese 🙂

However, the mining bits of the past are not over. At a distance I spot the water tank of one more mineral laundry:
DSC_0159.JPG

Let's have a closer look:
DSC_0160.JPG

DSC_0167.JPG

DSC_0166.JPG

DSC_0164.JPG

DSC_0165.JPG

Such constructions have a stairway to allow you access to the bottom but this one's is either destroyed or covered by the dense vegetation:
DSC_0163.JPG

And that's how a fruitful 4 parts walk comes to an end as I reach my car who is waiting patiently in the woods:
DSC_0169.JPG

Here is a video with clips from all 4 parts:

In case you don't mind stepping out of Hive in search for higher resolution here is the same video in 4K:

Hope you enjoyed it, see you in my next explorations!

Sort:  

Thanks for joining the Wednesday, its always fun for me to visit the walks from all around the world, getting a feel for communities where people live and what they see on their daily walks

Pleasure ;)

It is a very beautiful pine forest, the places you visit are also very beautiful. But we also have to be a little careful when going there because the hole looks very big and it's very scary to fall there

VERY careful actually hence I mentioned it a few times in those posts.
I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for stopping by!

you're welcome, brother

Congratulations @orestistrips! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 90000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!