Walking around antiquities @ Sounio National Park (part 2)

In the previous part I commented on Sounio National Park as a mountain that look like a Swiss cheese due to the intense silver mining actovity which dates back to the prehistoric ages and stopped just a few decades ago.The next pictures kinda speak for themselves on that:
DSC_0041.JPG

DSC_0042.JPG

DSC_0043.JPG

DSC_0040.JPG

DSC_0044.JPG

As you can see there's a weird and interesting combination of rock formations and human "editing" on these rocks. I find a passage that makes me feel between a rock and a hard place (pun potentially intended) which I decide to enter:
DSC_0045.JPG

It leads me to these pile of stones and I step closer to see what is what as usually there's interesting bits left behind at places with leftovers of such activity:
DSC_0047.JPG

DSC_0046.JPG

Fortunately my guess wasn't entirely wrong, there seem to be some holes in the rock worth having a look at even though there's nothing worth mining in them anymore:
DSC_0048.JPG

DSC_0049.JPG

DSC_0050.JPG

In the last picture you might have noticed something like a hose in front of that small cave. With a closer look I can confirm it's a firefighter's hose:
DSC_0051.JPG

Even more interesting is to see that it has burns showing why it was left there and how intense was the firefighting at that moment:
DSC_0055.JPG

DSC_0057.JPG

The hollow rock is definitely at least as interesting though:
DSC_0056.JPG

DSC_0054.JPG

Time to climb back up this pile of stones to continue my walk:

DSC_0058.JPG

Nice informative signs, readable by blind people who can also touch this piece on the left to feel the landscape. Good considerate job from the ministry of culture:
DSC_0059.JPG

If I wanted a break this spot would be impossible to pass but I am so excited to "Carpe Diem" that I walk past it:
DSC_0060.JPG

One more hollow rock,
DSC_0061.JPG

DSC_0062.JPG

and another one, fenced though:
DSC_0063.JPG

Wish I had a mountain bike but can't complain walking under the sun as it's impossible to sweat in the heart of winter even during the warmest one so far:
DSC_0064.JPG

There's points where this heaven offers dilemmas like this - left or right?
DSC_0065.JPG

Regardless the choice the view stays fan-pine-tastic:
DSC_0066.JPG

A little later I deviate a few meters as I see an ancient mineral laundry on my right:
DSC_0069.JPG

DSC_0070.JPG

DSC_0068.JPG

What you see above is its ruined water tank. Impressive to see how back in the day they had come up with a water tight grout that they applied on the stone walls to prevent leaks. There's still bits of it standing after all these centuries! How impressive is that!

More ruins on the way:
DSC_0071.JPG

DSC_0072.JPG

DSC_0073.JPG

However, this one a little later is more impressive - another water tank in very good condition, almost exactly how it used to be back in the day:
DSC_0074.JPG

I can't wait to step down its stairway and see this piece of history from the inside:
DSC_0082.JPG

I'm so impressed deep down inside this thing - have a look:
DSC_0076.JPG

DSC_0077.JPG

Remember I told you about that grout before, time to see it from closer:
DSC_0078.JPG

DSC_0079.JPG

There's still so much of it standing - impressive if nothing else. Time to step back up:
DSC_0081.JPG

Wanna take a break at this point maybe?

See you on the next part!
Sort:  

Rugged and so beautiful

Thanks for joining the Wednesday, its always fun for me to visit the walks from all around the world, getting a feel for communities where people live and what they see on their daily walks

Always happy to see others enjoying what my eyes harvest. Cheers!

👍🙂👍

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!

Seeing caves and places looks enticing. Hah! I love this community of Wednesday walk. Thank you for dahring your wall experience with us hiveans @orestistrips
#Cheers!