Forest Tripping in Meander, Tasmania [Plus A Whisper Pixie Video Featuring Me]

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


As I sit on the front deck in the winter sunshine this week, I'm reflecting on the travels that could have been, had we both not got ill. Dear Ganesha sits on his own in the car - he's our protective mascot on all our travels - waiting for us to be well enough to go places again. I can't wait to head back to Tassie, and have been thinking a lot of the ice falls in the Meander valley and maybe one day hiking there in the middle of winter.

On the last trip I headed out to the Meander Valley for a, well, meander! I didn't want to merely hang out in Devonport waiting for the ferry and wanted a last jaunt into the forest.

IMG_20220424_215917_282.jpg

I really have gone to some mad spots, often very much in the middle of nowhere. It always turns me off to see a heap of RVs in a place so I tend to head where they aren't.

IMG20220424121258.jpg

Lucky Tasmania is so extraordinary that there's more than enough to explore. If you unravelled what it had to offer like string, the line would reach to the moon and back. Rivers, beaches, lakes, mountains and waterfalls, and more. January's road trip was so awesome - I didn't post half of what I discovered there.

Flicking through my photos, I found a ridiculous video of me exploring in the woods, whispering away to myself. I was doing it to send it to Jamie who was already home, but I thought I may as well share it here for your amusement.

IMG20220424121135.jpg

The Meander Conservation area is down the end of a six kilometre dirt track, and to get to any number of falls and beauty spots, you have to hike. The Meander Falls sound most magnificent in winter, as the falls can freeze. Imagine long sheets of frozen waterfall. It must be quite the hike in and not for the faint of heart on icy and snow covered tracks, but it's now on my bucket list for sure.

IMG20220424111544.jpg

Of course I should have researched a little more thoroughly - the walks from here are a minimum of three hours, and to Meander Falls, it's about seven hours return. That gives you an idea about how big these wilderness areas are.

IMG20220424105518.jpg

I was there, however, to find fungi. I didn't have time for a huge walk nor, of course, inclination at this part of the trip. Though it's fairly dry, I do find some on the track before I even enter the forest. Honestly I felt like a pixie in those forests, like I was about to grow lichen on my limbs and mushrooms would begin to sprout from my brain.

IMG20220424113515.jpg

The most scary thing, however, was the swing bridge crossing the Meander River. You'll be able to see it in the video. I find them terrifying but I'm not one to let that stop me!

IMG20220424112249.jpg

Just before the bridge there is a lovely sculpture made from an old log. It's a homage to the large beasts that walked these lands long, long ago. In the quiet of the forest when the trees creak you can imagine them just out of sight.

IMG20220424112052.jpg

I didn't walk too far, as the track seems to go up a steep incline covered in fallen trees. I am not even sure I have the right track, but if I do, it's clear this isn't an easy track to hike.

Crossing over the swing bridge I take an unmarked track to the left, back toward the river. I'm trying to find the water to dip my fingers in and wash my face. I'm a little crazy over water, as some of you might know. Instead, I find an old lodge that may still be used, though I was too creeped out to poke my head in the door. There was an old fireplace and a toilet block falling into disrepair, and a strange smell that really made me feel queasy. Some places you can't handle in the day let alone the mere thought of being there at night.

IMG20220424115318.jpg

After exploring a little I head back to Devonport, stopping at a few places along the way to admire the view or have short walks through forests. Damn it was a good trip. For such a small state it sure does have a lot to offer.

IMG20220424172223.jpg

With Love,

image.png

Footer Copy (1).png
The Fungi Lovers Community: Home of #FungiFriday

My Post.jpg



The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!



▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful ! Wow, this huge fallen tiki is quite a thing..! I really love to see trip and pictures in the jungle as I never visited one... it makes me dream !!

Here it’s continental forest only, a bit dry and low in the south of France... The more it’s green, better it is :)

thanks for sharing this article @riverflows, I hope you’re doing well 🌟

Woe, I see loads of beauty. The swinging .bridge scares me the most due to my fear of height, I hope I don't fall while crossing.

Nature is a treasure, it is a blessing and gift to mankind.

Yes I find them super scary and this was a high one over a cold river!

Lolz, it must have been an amazing experience for you.

Sorry to hear health issues have slowed you down but what an apostle such a beautiful area
I think that bridge would have been intimidating to me also but I still would have crossed it

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I'll always cross a suspension bridge for the adventure but they always make me feel ill. Hope you enjoyed my silly video too..

the video was fun to watch to be honest I had sound off as my wife was stil sleeping but i loved it the ferns reminder me of back in NZ

I had a colleague who retired and lives in Tasmania now he always told me how beautiful it is there

I hate watching videos too,they are so noisy. But you did miss my whispery commentary 😂😂

😎👍😎

So sorry to hear that you guys aren’t well?
That trip looks totally awesome, some really lovely pics ❤️🤗💕🥂🥂
Get better soon

Thanks, it's driving me crazy... 😭🤪🦠

Bellos lugares y naturaleza, buenas fotografías.

That's why I love nature. 😊
You got good shots there friend. And I find your capture of fungi so cute.

I honestly could never get tired of taking mushroom photos..

I don't know which is more breathtaking, the smooth pace of your writing or the photos of the place. Surely both are charged with powerful emotions. Hope you'll be feeling better in the upcoming days. So you can take all those hikes and come back with some more amazing photos and a lot more gorgeous descriptions.

Thanks lovely. I hope you enjoyed the video too..

Yes, it was lovely. An true outdoors ASMR experience!

Thanks for showing us how beautiful nature is! I'm just waiting to see the selfie of the mushroom growing out of your brains 😂

Done!

Adobe_Express_20220706_2127030.17717272743327384.png

🤣🤣🤣🤪

Oh, I wanna cross that wicked hanging bridge right there! Bliss!

Far too scary for me!

Cool little Ganesh! I have a similar one. Loved your whispery hike through the woods. Mushrooms are magical!

I still don't know why I whispered... It made me laugh listening back 😂

Maybe you didn't want to disturb the forest spirits. :)

Maybe you should become a professional whisperer...

...or a mushrooms hunter ...

...or both :)

The amazing thing about this video is that as you were moving the camera, I kept seeing human forms and shelters. It left me with the impression that you crossed a village full of people!

Tasmania looks breathtaking and I don'y mean the bridge :)
I will probably never visit it, so please share as much as possible of it!

I hope you'll both have a quick recovery!

It certainly felt like a forest of people or pixies when I was there, very otherworldly!

How long did it take you guys to recover?

We both had 3 days with fever and 3 more that were so and so, not ill but not well either. I was also getting very easily tired during the second week without having any other symptoms.

Sounds the same for me. I don't like this tiredness. Hopefully it will go soon. Jamie's up and about now doing things so life returning to normal. I'm sad we didn't get an adventure though.

Such a great trip @riverflows 😁 we are the same and tend to stay far away from other tourists.
The only way to properly explore and discover.
Great captures 😎 the mushrooms are amazing. Sounds like there is lots to explore in that state 😊
Get well soon again both!
Have a great day further 👋🏻

I love that video, the forest is so lush and those trees, wow. I love how you greet the mushrooms. I would be in my element there as well. I would love to go on an wee adventure soon. Looking forward to more Tassie adventures from you xxxxx
I used a suspension bridge in Malaysia in the jungle, it went on for ever and moved a lot, it was quite a daunting experience xxx

Oh yes and in Malaysia I'm not sure I'd trust the bridge either, I went on a tree top walk there once, proper scary.

He he I was being rather silly in the video but I do talk to mushrooms and trees with my heart all the time 😂

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1609.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks so much @ybanezkim26 🙏💚

Great fungi finds! If only I can explore the wilderness all the time I want, I would and will surely go see the frozen waterfalls. I do love some waterfalls but I haven't seen a frozen on.

Wouldn't it be amazing, though cold, slippery and wet to get there! Definitely for the brave.

It sounds doable but yeah, it's more for the brave :D :D

You just motivated me to pay you a visit. Unfortunately, I think I don't have currently the resources to come to Australia (we are four people, so that all costs explode quite quickly).

Cheers, and thanks again for the nice pictures and moments with you.

Oh it's hard enough with just two, kids need extra! How old are your kids? I honestly am very drawn to France right now.

I have two lovely boys of 6 (almost 7) and 11. Feel free to pass by anytime (and let me know ^^ ).

Crossing that bridge was very cool!

So scary!!!

What a lovely forest to meaner through and so many mushrooms! Are you still planning on moving to Tasmania?

No, we decided against it - it's too hard at this time, and with interest rates the way they are we are better off staying put. We can always visit there anytime!

You have made such a lovely, productive homestead where you are I always wondered how you could leave it - now you can have the best of both - your developed homestead and visiting the beautiful Tasmania!