A Walk To The Combinis At 3am

in Wednesday Walk5 months ago (edited)

Life is just different here. A walk to the combini(convenience store) at 3am with $1000 cash in your wallet just isn't a big deal. Neither is walking by the police box where you greet each other with a cordial good morning. The cold is about the most adversarial thing you encounter in the early morning hours in Tokyo.

One of the nice things about jetlag is getting out very early in the morning for a brisk walk to the combini, or two as was the case this morning.

Yesterday I had gone to 711 which is about a 1km walk from my house.

I had to go there because the 711 across the street from my house decided this year to close from 1am to 6am. Life constantly throw curve balls and opportunities at you.

I've taken the closing of my 711 across the street as an opportunity to walk off some of the Christmas feast we had. For the next few days I am planning on walking to different combinis because there just isn't a lot to do at 3am other than walk.

Today I went to Lawson, which I believe is Japan's 3rd largest convenience store chain. I used to love Lawson. They had delicious curry man(steamed bun filled with curry) and karage kun(chicken nuggets). However when I went in this morning I was kind of shocked. No hot foods, no hot coffee, no breakfast sandwiches, and just an all around inferior selection of foods. So I put my shopping basket back and decided to go to the Family Mart about a block away.

As I crossed a small creek I realized it was another opportunity to enjoy the beautiful night sky.

The moon is full right now and Orion sits just below it and to the south, low on the horizon. As I gazed up I wondered when Betelgeuse will go supernova?

We've been having great weather in Tokyo and the night sky is no exception.

Arriving at the Family Mart they had just about everything, hot foods, good pastries, but the coffee machine wasn't working! However, Japan has hot drinks in the cooler section of the store, so I picked up a new Boss espresso! Same as the old Boss coffee unfortunately which is lots of milk, lots of sugar and coffee in there somewhere. If you happen to visit Japan understand all the can coffee's taste similar, except for the Tully's Espresso. That is a decent tasting coffee for can coffee and it will wake you up and send you to the bathroom!

After 2km and an hour of walking I made it back home to enjoy 1st breakfast.

Second breakfast will come when the family wakes up and I cook something for them. Then morning snack around 10am and lunch. It's insane how fun it is to eat here compared to the USA. With that in mind I think I better start planning some 10km city walks to be able to still fit into my clothes and keep the wife happy.

That's it for today. Here are a couple of other pictures I took along the walk.

Frozen laundry.

The elevated train, full moon and clouds.

See ya next time. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Sorry short comments today in a funky mood and if I try to do longer comments they may not come across well LOL
Have a great day :)

Thank you Jay for the inspiration. Have an awesome day!

I love these types of walks in the early hours of the morning, dear friend @rt395, especially if it is to go shopping at a grocery store. What a shame that the convenience store didn't have hot foods for breakfast, it's good that you could find almost all the products in the other place.
Excellent Wednesday walk, appreciate you sharing with us.
have a great morning

Thank you for stopping by.

If these mart have hot food and good pastries then I am sure I would love to roam around these marts and these superstores. It's my love to walk in Japan. I don't know when in my life I will get chance to visit Japan.


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

Thank you. Someday I would love to visit Skardu, as I am a gem and mineral dealer.

OMG! You know Skardu 🥹🥹. I am amazed that you know places in Pakistan.

The gem deposits around Skardu are world famous.

Miss those days when walking late at night in Japan. Seriously nothing like it.

It's a different kind of freedom. When I lived in SF during the dotcom boom I was always out clubbing and walking around the city, but I had to constantly be on alert for nutcases or people who wanted to mug you. That though never crosses my mind so I'm able to be totally open and experience life unhindered. It's liberating.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!