Wednesday Walking Near Decorah Peak

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

PXL_20211110_151425313_edited.jpeg

An entry for the #wednesdaywalk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay.

PXL_20211110_151334628_edited.jpeg

Last week was all about enjoying the autumn colors in the cool, frosty sunlight of an early November day. Today was meant to include the same; however, the sun did not cooperate and grey clouds kept things dreary. This is the November I have been expecting.

PXL_20211110_151314207_edited.jpeg

I've noticed this roadside monument now for the past few months as I've driven past it on Wednesdays. I have kept meaning to stop; finally, today, I pulled over to take a look. The history of the area is documented as such (see above).

Screenshot 2021-11-10 7.18.30 PM.png

The image above is from the La Crosse Tribune, August 2, 1984. Apparently back in the day, the peak was a rock climbing/scrambling destination for local adventurers. Today's trip was supposed to include a scramble, too, but time was not on my side. With a consultant waiting for me at work, I was only able to scout the area below.

PXL_20211110_151346862_edited.jpeg


PXL_20211110_151428784.MP_edited.jpeg


PXL_20211110_151350869_edited.jpeg

No peak vistas today for me, but plenty of skeleton trees. November is definitely here for good. You could feel the cold and dampness in the bones and joints (at least I could...but hey, I'm getting old over here!)

This area is so rich with Native American history. This little spot here...I can't even imagine the history that rolled over this area years ago. I read that many farmers in the area found plenty of arrowheads and broken pottery when tearing up land for fields. More history is potentially gone forever; today, aside from the peak and some bluff lands, there is a stretch of power lines that roll through here...how the times have changed.

PXL_20211110_151339818_edited.jpeg

I've marked this area as a spot to return to in the future. I'd love to summit the peak at some point, but more research is needed. Maybe I'll find some time for another Wednesday walk to the top?

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my #wednesdaywalk. Until next week, have a wonderful week!

Sort:  

I would’ve thought that picture was older than that, not from 84 lol.

Love these nice local spots! Makes for a bit of fun when you can take some time to explore them. Hopefully you won’t have a consultant or someone waiting for you next time!

We still have some leaves on the trees but it was a strange foliage year this year! It was still Halloween and lots of trees were still as green as ever. Just now the giant oaks are shedding and killing off their leaves. Hopefully that means a mild winter lol

Yeah, the consultant wasn't bad, but my brain was hurting at the end.

The leaves around here have been falling for a bit...interesting that you are seeing different. For the most part, most leaves are gone around us.

Yes, I'll take a mild winter please

I love the moody feel to your shots so much history there and cool scenery to explore on a nicer day

I know what you mean about feeling the cold in your bones

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks for stopping by - I definitely would like to get to the summit (maybe not in the same climbing clothes, however, as that newspaper photo!). It's been a real joy accumulating local history of late thanks to the #wednesdaywalk community - much appreciated!

An area that has historical value, and a good view, like post thank you,

thanks! A lot of it is hidden just "off" the beaten path...I definitely have been enjoying the research of various areas of late.

I can see the lovely view and the power of nature and season on those trees,there is time and seasons for every thing ,I love all the pictures, am sure you will be a good photographer😁

Thanks much! The trees make it easy for photos!

Smile 😊