Wednesday Walking While Reminiscing About COVID

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

PXL_20220817_175349839_edited.jpeg

For this week's #wednesdaywalk, as hosted by @tattoodjay, I went for a walk at lunch. As luck would have it, today was a work-from-home day thanks to a car issue. For lunch, I chose to walk around the campus of the nearby university...a place where I spent so much time at on walks while dealing with quarantine during the height of the pandemic.

PXL_20220817_175746017_edited.jpeg

Back then, the whole campus was a ghost town. For me, it was a chance to get away from the house and take in fresh air and podcasts. It also helped me to figure out an eye for photography.

PXL_20220817_175525683.MP_edited.jpeg

I'm definitely not a professional, but for whatever reason, I learned to appreciate photography during those trying times. In the past, I always thought photography was lazy. Sort of like "easy art." The Goyas, Ernsts, and Van Goghs...that was real art. Not me taking a photo with my cellphone.

Yet somehow, as I've gotten older, I've learned to appreciate photography. Good, bad, excellent, or even ugly, it's something I've learned to enjoy as I've gotten older.

PXL_20220817_175933845_edited.jpeg


PXL_20220817_180614973_edited.jpeg

The height of the pandemic...what a time, right? It sucked, big time. Yet for as much as damage as it did to us as a society, right or wrong, it was a time for reflection for me. Walking these grounds was almost a holy experience; an almost "sacred" rite that I got to experience for about an hour every day.

PXL_20220817_181520807.MP_edited.jpeg



PXL_20220817_180752852_edited.jpeg

And, to make today's walk even more meaningful, I revisited some of the favorite spots I discovered while perhaps discovering myself some three years ago already. What a time to experience...

PXL_20220817_180818324.MP_edited.jpeg


PXL_20220817_181626838_edited.jpeg


PXL_20220817_181639127.MP_edited.jpeg

To this date, I still don't know if I've ever had the virus. Sure, I was sick over the years, but never enough to take a test (or if I did take a test, I never tested positive.). Yeah it was a rough time for all of us, but I'm trying to think more positively of the past. Hopefully, you are too!

Thanks for stopping by to take a look at my walk! Until next week...

Sort:  

Such an interesting take on a positive side to this pandemic and how it opened your eyes to things including photography
It’s easy to focus on the negative sides of it naturally but for some it also allowed time for self contemplation as you say

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I won't lie, yesterday was quite a reflective walk for me, lol - what a crazy past three years

Wow these are just taken with your cellphone? YOu have an eye for lines and perspective! I know what you mean about the ritual of walking during the pandemic. I think we were less distracted by other things I guess. A time to reflect and smell the roses, as it were x

Yeah, it was really a good time for me, despite all the chaos and hatred and confusion running around. Just to have been able to be in lockdown for two months with my family...I'll never forget it

Thanks for the photography feedback! yeah, all with a phone...I really have learned to appreciate the medium

Well the photos are inspiring.

I'll never forget lockdown either.. it still is giving me PTSD!!!