Wednesday Walking With the James Gang

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

PXL_20211124_200843032 (1)_edited.jpeg

An entry for the #wednesdaywalk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay.

PXL_20211124_200222670_edited.jpeg

A long time ago, for a #weekendengagement post, the love of my life and I tracked the end game of the Gang's gang exit from the city I live in. Love of my life = my daughter, by the way...clarification. Gang's game, by way of clarification, is none other than Jesse James.

PXL_20211124_200252958_edited.jpeg

Long story short, from a local newspaper article online, the James gang would have robbed the bank in the distance and planned on a ferry across the Mississippi to Minnesota. Plans didn't happen as expected, as Jesse passed...

PXL_20211124_200306887.jpg

The view to the east the gang would have looked at 150 years ago...

PXL_20211124_200350605.jpg

I walked out for a view of the river here...

PXL_20211124_201137442_edited.jpeg

Ultimately, Jesse James killed the plan due to the inconsistency of the ferry service. I mean, this area...so much damn history!

PXL_20211124_201420774.jpg

More research is required, but from what I gathered, this is an area the James gang would have needed for exit to Minnesota:

PXL_20211124_200918426.jpg

More research to come, but a wonderful #wednesdaywalk outing. More to come soon, I promise...who knew sharing on the blockchain was so fascinating??We

Sort:  

How cool to be walking in the footsteps of one of history's most infamous characters!

Wow, you must have felt some goosebumps on your arms there!

Thanks so much for sharing!

Thanks! Yeah, this town is an old river town on the Mississippi River...lots of history everywhere! Plus it was a sacred trading site to the Native Americans beforehand, so one can really find history at any place

Wow so cool, so I assume that there'd be a few good museums there then too? And do they ever find anything and have archeological digs there anywhere?

That’s cool that Jesse James was in that area and the ferry service messed up was plans seems public transportation being unreliable is nothing new

What a beautiful area

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)