Wednesday Walk: A Home in MyCalifornia

Hello Hive! It's Wednesday again, and we shall continue with our walk through my town.

Wednesday Walk challenge is hosted by @tattoodjay in collaborating with the Make Me Smile hosted by @elizacheng.


♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

This Victorian Italianate is virtually unaltered from the time it was built in 1888. The front porch is a craftman's delight with very imaginative Stick and Eastlake touces in the turned balustrade, post, and moldings.


The front gable is richly decorated with stickwork. This home is embellished with an elaborate frieze design, brackets, and slanted bay windows.


The original cast iron cresting still crowns the widow's walk on the roof. A widow's walk, also known as a widow's watch or roofwalk, is a railed rooftop platform often having an inner cupola/turret frequently found on 19th-century North American coastal houses.



♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥


During the first one hundred years of history, the home was owned by only two families and their heirs. The house was built for W.W. and Imogene Porter.


Mr. Porter was superintended of the Water Works, and tragically lost his life as a volunteer fireman during the towns great fire of 1892. He was killed when a wall of burning Opera House came crashing down. Mrs. Porter owned a millinery business on Main Street. She died in 1921. The home was inherited by the Porter' daughter, Annie, who was married to Dr. James T, Royles and they lived in the home until 1920.


George and Sarah LaBonte, newcomers from Missouri, were the next owners and lived here until they both passed in 1948 and 1950. Their daughters, Mae LaBonte Germeshausen and Nettie LeBonte Ender, inherited the house and owned it until Dennis and Karen Gay purchase the home1991.


The present owners, Jenifer and Betty Miller have done extensive renovation work on the house since they purchase it in 2004. The hose received the town's Heritage Home award in 2006.


Another lovely home. It makes you smile!


😍#ilikeitalot!😍


I used Pinmapple to pin this post to the world map using a code generated at Pinmapple to mark the place where I traveled and took these photos.

It is so cool! You should try it!

[//]:# (!pinmapple 38.674807 lat -121.774550 long d3scr)

Best Regards,

@silversaver888


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

Join the Ladies of Hive Community and the Ladies of Hive in discord.

Would you like to support The Ladies of Hive Community?

Consider giving a delegation!

25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 150 HP - 200 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP - 5000 HP


Sort:  

Congratulations @silversaver888, your post won 1st prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Woot, Woot!!!'
I won again!!!
Hahaha!
@thesacalhive, you ROCK!!!
I was crossing my fingers!!!
And I won!
THANK YOU!!!

Hi @silversaver888, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @stokjockey. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Thank you very much, @stokjockey!

Ms. Saver @silversaver888

Product Details
As low as $7.99 per coin over spot
This APMEXclusive® has a limited mintage of 5,000 coins and is the first in the Owls Series. This 2021 1 oz Silver coin features a Great Horned Owl.

image.png

image.png

I Know that You !LUV Firsts in a New Series of Coins............. See What I did There ??

How ornate!
I might buy them, depending on the price!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That’s another cool property and thanks for the history of it

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk

I thought that crown widow's walk is quite unique in these parts
I will see if there are other homes with that one.
Thanks, @tattoodjay!

Yeah I don’t see those often but they are such a cool feature

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 57 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

I missed you! You were gone for two days!!!
Thank you for coming, @pixresteemer.


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That's a proper run down on the history of that house

The current owners of the houses usually know the history of their own homes. I've shown several through the years. I think I will revisit the past homes and write about them.
Will you be showing your copper coins?

You mean the Henry VIII silver penny?

My bad, I thought the Henry VII was copper!

Nike walk you had there! :)

It is relaxing!
You walk the caves, I do homes, lol!
Thanks for checking this out, @gabrielatravels.

Haha! Fair enough!

Lovely house. Problem is now it makes me really curious to know how the inside looks like. It must be a real charmer. Hope one day you can somehow manage to get inside and take photos. That would really be something.

Great idea! I'll take the photos of the interior but first I need to find the time to make an appointment with the owners. They are a charmer for sure!
The facades are large, and the properties are longways.

This house has the typical elements of the Victorian architecture. Thanks for sharing.

Yes, it is Victorian!
Some of the houses here were built in the same era.
It is wonderful!
Thanks for checking it out, @nenio.

Nice story. I like houses with a history-they have a soul:)

Yes, that's what I like about them too.
I live in a small town, so pretty much the history of the old houses is intact.
Through the years I've featured them.

Have a lovely afternoon, @animal-shelter!

Nice victorian style home

Beautiful hand Craftsmanship @silversaver888!!
This was built before power tools, many hours of hand work to create the very decorative moldings...a work of art my friend!😀

It must have taken them forever to finish these homes unless there were many craftsmen involved.
I can only imagine. The house is longways (all of them are) since the lots are subdivided that way. It is unimposing upfront but extensive sideways. There's more to it!
Have a great day, @silvertop 😀

Very interesting @silversaver888, they took advantage of the lay of the land.
Wouldn't it be nice to step back in time and watch these Craftsman work!😀

I love victorian houses! They are so ornate and pretty! I have always wanted to go up to a widow's walk and look at the view, but have yet to achieve that. Thanks for sharing another lovely home, sis!😘🤗💕🌸

The name is said to come from the wives of mariners, who would watch for their spouses' return, often in vain as the ocean took their lives, leaving the women widows.
I wonder what the view is on to of the roof. It must be beautiful, seeing the area is covered with old, large trees.

Hugs and kisses, sis 😘🤗💕🌸

It's the view I'm wondering about as well. Maybe someday, I'll find one I can go up top on. If you do, please take pictures! Hugs and kisses sis!🤗😘💕🌸

Oh, what a cool looking house. Those houses are very stylish but their maintenance must be a real nightmare! 😵

In this house, and most that I know, the guts have been replaced, like the pipes are now copper pipes. Checking for termites on the wood is done every year and repainting to protest every couple of years...
Must be expensive!
How are you, @trincowski?

Fine, thanks. Hoping that my portfolio recovers and this is not a Bull Trap. 🙄

Very cool, and I love historic homes! Thanks for sharing! 😎

Cool!
I knew you love them, @brian.rrr!