Wednesday Walk: A Simple Queen Anne Cottage

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago (edited)

Hello, Hivers! I thought I'd get this one early as I am always late to the party.

Wednesday Walk challenge is hosted by @tattoodjay in collaborating with the Make Me Smile hosted by @elizacheng.

We shall continue with our Wednesday Walk through our town. It's pretty shady in this part of town. Let's look at another Heritage Home.


Built in 1890, this Queen Anne cottage's first owner was Frank Nelson, a county farmer. Upon his death in 1896, the house passed to his brother, who sold the house to the newly elected County Sheriff James Monroe.


During the 1920s, a large 6-car garage (still in use) was built behind the house for James Monroe's Model T Ford collection. James Monroe remained Sherrif for 28 years until he retired in 1938, and his son Forrest Monroe was elected to the post.


Forrest held his Sherrif post for 32 years. His wife, Mary Monroe, lived in this house until her death in 1972 in her 90s. The house is very pretty... not imposing at all.


This Queen Anne cottage has a sitting porch covered by a rounded roof. The climbing vine provides additional shade from the afternoon sun.


Like many of the Victorian era homes, this house has a side entrance that is used by guests in a more formal setting. There is a room in the basement measuring 7 feet by 10 feet, which was originally used by the Nelson's cook.


It has a gabled square bay window on the front facade. Christian & Carolyn Jorgensen purchased the home in 1974. Carolyn has added to the original stained glass window and has kept the additional windows in period styling.


The house received the town's Heritage Home award in 2007.

What a lovely home. It makes you smile!


😍#ilikeitalot!😍


I used Pinmapple to pin this post to the world map using a code generated at Pinmapple to mark the place where I traveled and took these photos.

It is so cool! You should try it!

[//]:# (!pinmapple 38.672519 lat -121.775038 long d3scr)

Best Regards,

@silversaver888


All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

Join the Ladies of Hive Community and the Ladies of Hive in discord.

Would you like to support The Ladies of Hive Community?

Consider giving a delegation!

25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 150 HP - 200 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP - 5000 HP


Sort:  

I just adore old homes that have the Victorian style. Edwardian and Queen Anne are so nice yet have their own distinctiveness. Watermarked and stained glass windows are a must. One of the reasons why I feel that I was born in the wrong era. So many things of that era resonates with me.
To Travel in time in my imagination.

Always, with love 🤗 🌺 💖

The BEST is YET to COME @kerrislravenhill, You Will !LUV it..............

Hi @kerrislravenhill, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @stokjockey. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

what a lovely home. Wish I can own my own home in the future.
House prices are now so high.

When the timing is right, @hooiyewlim, you will be able to buy a house!

what a lovely home. Wish I can own my own home in the future.
House prices are now so high.

I will wish the same for you @hooiyewlim!
Have a nice day!

I think You !LUV The Roses Ms. Saver @silversaver888

Hahaha, you got me there @stokjockey!
The rose bushes actually attracted me to this house.
But I also wanted to share the story.
The garages of these homes are located at the back, and there is an alley that lead to it.
I wish I had the time to take more photos!

You Did Great Honey, Very Impressive Photos and Really such a Beautiful Property Ms. Saver @silversaver888

All properties here are in great shape.
I never did research how much they are.
! bet they are pricey @stokjockey.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 56 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
9

Ah! I was just commenting elsewhere how much I love long walks. Especially picturesque ones. Keep up the good work here.

Don't you just love it!
Especially when there are so many trees to give you shade...
And nice homes to look at!
Thank you, @movement19, for the visit!

I like the rounded porch and the wood work on the railings. That Wisteria looks like its going crazy! That stuff can get out of hand quick unless they trim the heck out of it.. lol.

Those side steps should not be used after an evening of drinking.. 😆

I think they want the Wisteria to go crazy! I'll go back to take photos when they are in bloom.
It is lovely with all the violet, looking like grapes, flowers!
Hehehe... especially when you do not want to call attention to yourself,
those stairs will be helpful... 😆!

Oh Boy! I am looking forward to that picture. It is so pretty when it blooms.. that's for sure. The vines can be a real pain though.

Hahaha.. Those Stairs.

Hi @silversaver888, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @stokjockey. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Thank you very much, @stokjockey!

I love the rounded front porch on the Queen Anne cottage, so very unique @silversaver888! It does make you smile....very classy construction!!!😀

Would you believe this structure is the same house that was built in 1890!!!
And it stayed with the family till 1972.
The owners take pride in their homes.

Thats so very uncommon @silversaver888 now days Families move so many times...Beautiful home!!😀

enjoy every every walk and be grateful for each simple thing that life give us :)
greetings from mexico

I just love this area of town.
You are right... I am so grateful that I bought a property in this town!
Welcome, I hope you found this post interesting.
Enjoy the week, @viviendolibre.

Hello dear friend @ silversaver888 good night
How beautiful is your town, I adore that it is dark, I love the streets like that. Your neighborhood has a lot of history and beautiful houses.
I appreciate that you share all this information
have a beautiful night

Likewise, @jlufer!
I adore this town, and the more I see it, the more I am appreciating it!
Have a nice aftern00n, my friend!

I Know You Love AMERICA Ms. Saver @silversaver888

It is amazing!!! I will research them!
Thanks for the forward!!!

It is indeed, a beautiful and well kept home. It is so cool that you have these near by and that the history is so well preserved. It looks so peaceful, cool, and inviting. I look forward to your next Wednesday walk, sis! Take care and thanks for sharing!

There are hundreds of old home here are well kept!
It is incredible!
There is one structure, literally ONE that needs TLC. I will take a photo of it sometime and show it to you.

Hugs and Kisses sis 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

Thanks @silversaver888 for the hugs and kisses! Right back at you!🤗😘💕🌸 I look forward to more pictures of the homes in your town. Take care, sis!

A beautiful house, well maintainedand in what looks like a quiet neighbourhood. Wonderful!

Yes, they are well maintained and such a quiet neighborhood!
You can go to the entire town and it is like this.
When the kids are out it is much prettier!

I love these posts you do showing these historic houses, a time gone by but clearly not forgotten here

Love the windows in these old places they had such style back then

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

The current owners maintain the houses' like pristine!
I don't think they have the desire to change anything.
.. if they did, they'd buy where I am... where the homes are just 3 years old.
This one was but 1890! Would you believe it is still existing! All of them are still in existence!
Thank you, @tattoodjay!
I love it when you come.
It's like having my older brother check on me.

That’s great
I will try and visit more regularly these days 👍🙂👍

I would love that very much.
👍🙂👍👍🙂👍

🙂👍🙂

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

super charming this house fascinated me and even more the history it carries with it.

Isn't it fascinating!
I featured it because of its history!
Imagine... this house was occupied by the family from the time it was built in 1890 till 1972!
Truly fascinating!
Thanks for coming, @susamusic.

Nice victorian house

Hi @orlandumike!
Have a great biking day!

I had a hike instead yesterday, but it's still a nice effort when climbing nearly 1000 meters ;)

My, what a climb!
Take care, @orlandumaike