Wednesday Walk: Desert Botanical Garden with Robyn

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago (edited)

Many of my walks this year are going to be in the Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix.

  1. It is open early on Wednesday mornings for members
  2. Chihuly is there till June
  3. I have invited people to go to the garden and to see Chihuly with me.
  4. I am going to make an Agave book this year

This morning my co-worker Robyn came with me. We got to the garden at 7am, when it opens on Wednesdays. It was still dark. That turned out to be great we got to see the Chihuly both in the dark and light.

Love this blue light!

Here you can see the difference 37 minutes makes in the light


Today's walk stats

0.91 miles and 44 minutes

There are so many great paths in the garden


Research for the Agave book

I am going to figure out what types of agaves there are in the garden and then get the best pictures I can for each and research them.

Squid AgaveMezcal CenizaFelger's Agave

Close up


Red Baja Fairy Duster


Teddy Bear Cholla


Looking up

I love seeing what is on the ground and sometimes forget to look up.

The garden is stunning and I really enjoy how the plants and art change as the light changes.

2021 Walks
Wednesday Walk: National Mall
Wednesday Walk: Central Park
Wednesday Walk: NYC-Penn Station to South Ferry
Wednesday Walk: Mesa Temple Gardens
Wednesday Walk: Desert Botanical Garden

Sort:  

It dawned so late there, to see the dim light like that we had to get up at 5am.
Botanical gardens will become more vibrant with macro photos

Both Robyn and I were commenting to each other how late the sunrise is this time of year. Thanks I am excited to do macro photography in the garden again. Here is a post from last year with my macro lens https://peakd.com/hive-127788/@sjarvie5/share-our-world-desert-botanical-garden-in-1-4

I've seen the photos, that's why I say macro is suitable for small flowers and plants.
My personal opinion: I like to remove the font just right, around the subject is not completely blurred. Of course your work is still amazing

Do you have an example of that?

No, I don't have a good camera and lens to use macro mode. I often admire those works in groups sharing about the passion for macro on facebook.

That Red Baja Fairy Duster is so lovely. It looks like one of those baits for fly fishing.

Yes, it does!

Wow, you truly are an early bird :)

It is so cool to have this amazing garden close to you!

I really am. By that time I have been up for a while too. It is so great that I can go so often. I am excited to get out and take some artistic pictures of agaves. I am going to take my macro next time!

I love seeing your walks here isnt it maazign how the feel of a view can change so quickly once the sun rises

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

So glad you like it. My last three posts have all been this garden.

Yes I remember it’s a garden I would love to visit it one day

Thank you for sharing. I visited it a long time ago. It's so beautiful.

Thanks @Kansuze. That is so fun that you have been here too.

Such s lovely place to be, guess I'll love to be at the Desert Botanical Garden in the nearest future, to learn and explore.

thanks for sharing and have a great day ahead.

Thanks @vickoly Yes, if you visit Phoenix, Arizona you should definitely visit this garden.

You're welcome, I'll do just that soonest.

what a beautiful place!

Yes, so pretty.

It's a nice park, I see there is peace there.

Yes, it is peaceful, especially in the mornings.

Of course, in the morning the air must be very fresh.

The art looks deceptively real... even though it's so colourful, so gaudy. a great park with a lot to see! Thank you for showing us a part!

You are welcome. It is a wonderful garden and so fun that they have different artist come exhibit there.

The lighting conditions really make a very big difference.... actually i thought they were plants (at first glance when i looked at the pictures). it looks so real! This is really art, thanks for showing it to us.

Hi Mary. Glad you enjoy it. Chihuly is a fantastic artist.

Well, it's my turn to say how much I would love to walk this garden with you Sara!!!
And the book about agave, how fascinating!!!
The timing was perfect, I love the blue hour! 37 minutes were more than enough to totally change the feeling!
Lovely tour! As always :)

Aww thanks so much. I thought you would like a plant book. I am excited to learn more about this beautiful and very diverse plant.

I don't know much about agave, almost nothing... I can't wait for more info from you when the time comes! Exciting! Enjoy the long and interesting journey of agave learning and book making :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cool I see they've added the glass sculptures since I've been there last. Do they still have the rock plant garden area there?

Chihuly has come here three time since I moved here in 2007. Many different artists come into the garden. I do not know about the rock plant garden area. There are so many different garden areas. Probably.