Wednesday Walk - Quick Trip Downtown

Here's a quick winter break trip I took downtown for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay

cloudgate2.jpg
As usual we had to look at the cloudgate sculpture aka the bean.

cloudgate1.jpg
This time it was rather gloomy on a holiday weekday so not too many people were downtown and we could see the bean better than usual. Normally this place would be surrounded by hundreds of people taking selfies in front of it.

skaters2.jpg
Nearby there is an ice skating ring and my panorama settings couldn't handle the speed of some of the skaters.

skaters.jpg
So I snapped a one off shot to try and get better action from the skaters. The city's gloom was too much and the speed made them blurry.

ai3.jpg
We took a quick peak inside the Art Institute. Here is a little gallery of globes where various objects are encased in something like acrylic based on various themes. This one reminds me of spring.

ai2.jpg
Here's an interesting marble sculpture. These kinds of sculptures always make me want to break out the charcoal to sketch the lights and darks of the form.

ai1.jpg
Here's an odd painting. I wish I would have taken note of the artist but we were in a rush. Looks like a jaw bone and some kind of modern looking egg chair lol.

lamp.jpg
Now its time to head back home to suburbia on the train. Its only like 3pm but its already really dark outside and the lamps are lit.

path.jpg
Now back home from the train station we have to take this snowy path. Fortunately when it snows around here the temperature gets a slight bit warmer for a while. I'm sure it will be getting pretty cold in the next few days though and this will be packed ice.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

What a cool post i have always wanted to make it there and see the bean, and I love the funky effect of the panorama skaters :)

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

The bean is always crowded, this was the least crowded I've seen it probably because it was so windy, cold and gray that day. Our office did a skate outing at that ring once and I learned that I can barely keep my balance while traveling at a snails pace.

yeah I aways imagined it would be crazy crowded which would put me off going there LOL

I tried skating once and spend most of my time trying to get back up after falling lOL

Hello dear friend @sketch.and.jam good morning
What a beautiful city, I love the glass buildings and this beautiful work of art (Bean)
Apparently people really enjoy the skating rink, beautiful shots.
thank you very much for sharing these beautiful images
Have a wonderful afternoon

The bean is pretty impressive especially on a sunny day since it reflects all the surrounding buildings in a panorama on its surface.

Yes, seeing it this way, without being covered by people, is really very beautiful, a true work of art.
hope you enjoy it a lot

Looks like a jaw bone and some kind of modern looking egg chair lol

Perhaps the egg is the throat? Close up of some screaming 😱 My kids have a love/hate relationship with pop up skating rinks. They played hockey for years so are quite good skaters. They love going with friends to show off but hate being shouted down for skating too fast lol

Ha it probably was a severed tongue, yipes next time I go back I'll try and see what that painting is about. There were some serious speedsters on the rink. Being from the desert, I can't skate at all.

Cloud Gate in Chicago?

Yeah, I used to walk by it everyday when my old office was located nearby. Now I'm farther west and rarely see it.

I would love to do skating in that skating right but I am also sure of it that I will fall so badly. So, it's good to be do this in imagination 😂 isn't it good?

I went there on an office outing once and I nearly fell lol, I can only go slow near the edges.

I skated a long time ago.
Whenever I remember that experience, I feel a slight pain in the pelvic area of my back, which I earned from falling often while I was learning to skate 🙂

I like the "ghost" photography because of the people in motion

One of my coworkers biffed it bad on that rink. I stayed near the edge and got a sore arm.