Wednesday Walk - Random Sightings on a Walk with the Baby

Here are a few things I saw on a walk in a forest preserve for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay

I thought a buzzard was flying above me when I got out to the forest preserve. Then I zoomed in a bit more on my camera and realized it was a bald eagle.


Later on I saw a couple juveniles on a dead tree in the middle of a swamp. More soon on these guys for #featheredfriday.


Meanwhile while I was watching the eagles there was a fellow walker on the path with me... Fortunately it didn't attack as it hasn't setup a nest in the swamp yet. It sure seems to be pooping up the path though, watch where you step.


My daughter was on this walk with me and she wasn't sure what to think of the loud honking goose. For once she wasn't sleeping on our stroller walk.


A bit behind the goose I found a sickly looking garter snake. It was alive but it kind of looks like something like a goose might have bitten him. I moved it off the path and hopefully it will survive the goose bite.


The nice serene nature sounds were interrupted with a helicopter ambulance. It has a nice color scheme against the blue sky.


While I was looking up at the helicopter I noticed an abandoned Bald-faced Hornet nest. These guys build huge nests up in trees then the whole colony except for the queen dies off each year leaving behind giant paper nests. Then they have to start building a new one once the queen emerges from underneath tree bark.


I finally made it to the swamp and saw turtles as usual. Once my daughter gets old enough we'll try and go wading through the swamp to catch some frogs and turtles.


The Red-Winged Blackbirds are getting angsty around the water. They are constantly fighting with eachother over territory right now. Once they've established territory and nests then they'll start attacking anyone who comes near them.


On my way back to the car I noticed something balancing high up in the tree. From a distance I thought it might be a bird but after zooming in it was just a squirrel eating fresh tender buds off the tree. I'll have plenty to post for this #squirrelsunday

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

You had an amazing walk with nature!
Hehe, it's been a while, the last time I read your blog, you are checking stroller for your daughter.

!PIZZA

Now my walks are limited to stroller safe pathways lol, fortunately there were quite a few critters out along the path.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@lhes(1/5) tipped @sketch.and.jam

I am also very excited to go for walks in nature because you always meet beautiful animals

Early spring is great, all the critters are out and busy.

you sure saw such a wide variety of things on your walk, the Bald Eagle shot is awesome, cool your daughter was awake to experience the beauty of nature with you

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk, Sorry last week was a bit rough for me and I not only did not get out for any walks, but also was not able to visit all the walks from last week, but feeling better this week and visiting posts again which is always fun for me to visit the walks from all around the world, getting a feel for communities where people live and what they see on their daily walks

Maybe this weekend I can figure out a way to get closer to those bald eagles on the other side of the swamp.

that would be great if you could :)

I would need that nice 360 camera you have and a drone to fly near them.

now that would be cool, but expensive LOL

Then the protective mother eagle would probably knock the drone into the swamp. Fortunately the camera is waterproof.

I have bene tempted many times to get a drone, but think with my luck I would probably crash and loose it to quickly LOL

Nice that you got out for a #wednesdaywalk and were able to bring your daughter along. Walks go through phases. First you hope your little one will fall asleep. Then later your want your kid to run around and tire themselves out for a good afternoon nap. Its all good. Enjoy it all 😊

I wonder how soon I can start bringing her on forest hiking trips, maybe 5 years from now lol. Then there will be the anticomplaining training that will have to happen.

So cute bebe! Omg, the snake. I would run away quickly. :D

Fortunately there aren't any venomous snakes in my area. Further south I can find cottonmouth, rattle snakes and copperheads that you should run from lol.

Oh, I am not an expert on snakes. hehehe! So I cannot tell if it's venomous or not. I'll freak out. haha!

I usually try and catch whatever snake I see, except for the poisonous ones lol.

Wow, you're so good at identifying snakes, then. :D

very nice picture display.

Thanks for looking :-)

My husband always said a bald eagle looks like a plank floating in the sky. Broad straight wings with no curve.

The juveniles definitely look like a plank with their mottled feathers. I wish I could sneak up higher to get better photos of the two babies in the tree. I'm guessing they are probably gone by now.