Vermont Wednesday Walk

in Wednesday Walk β€’ last year

Gnarled tree

Happy #WednesdayWalk hosted by @tattoodjay πŸ™‚ I took my normal walk around my neighborhood but tried to find a few unique photos like this gnarled tree.

Twisted tree

Or this interesting twisted tree.

Bald Eagle

Unfortunately I didn't have the right setup for a good picture but this is a bald eagle in a tree down by the lake. I was excited to see it. We occasionally see bald eagles around the lake but the are not common. I think they prefer Lake Champlain and some of the bigger waterways.

Barred Owl

Later on my walk I found this barred owl. They are more common. I hear them a lot and see them occasionally. Sometimes even when there is enough light for a photo πŸ™‚

Fallen tree

This fallen tree is interesting because of the shelf mushrooms on it.

Two ways

The older gray shelf mushrooms were growing when it was upright before it fell. The newer beige mushrooms have grown after it fell. I thought it was cool that they are perpendicular to each other.

Changing

These mushrooms are actually adapting. They were growing one way and now are growing another.

Stumps

These picturesque stumps were a little further along my walk.

Puffballs

They are covered with older puffball mushrooms that have turned brown.

New home

A woodpecker recently added a new hole to this tree for its winter home.

White moth

These curious white moths come out around this time of year. I studied a bit online. They are apparently winter moths. Native to Europe and invasive in the northeast US since the 1990s πŸ™

White mushrooms

A final shot of some late season white mushrooms blending in with the foliage.

I hope you enjoyed my #wednesdaywalk from Vermont. Have a great day!

Sort: Β 

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks to @qurator for the support and to @EwkaW for finding my post πŸ™πŸ™

Yay! πŸ€—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @steven-patrick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Awesome Wednesday walk
@steven-patrick
All Wonderful images !
Excellent and beautiful photo capture of the Barred OwlπŸ¦‰πŸ˜Š.
I hear them often, mostly in the evening. Always thrilled and excited when I see one quietly perched up in a tree.They are truly one of my favourite woodland creatures.
🌲:-)

So nice to hear from you πŸ™‚ I love owls too. When we first moved to the east coast it was odd that the owls didn't sound like owls because I was used to the great horned owls call lol Now the barred owls are my favorite.

Loved your walk. Owls are the best! Seems like a beautiful place to relax and observe nature. I haven't done a walk in ages... Too busy surfing 🌊😜

If everybody had an ocean... I think thats an old Beach Boys song. Thanks for checking out my post πŸ‘

some real cool and unique shots on your walk looks os beautiful, and love the owl

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks for hosting the #wednesdaywalk. Its always a fun community.

What a wonderful walk you had @steven-patrick πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘‹πŸ» That tree looks so cool with it’s textures.
And you saw an eagle πŸ¦… wow… very cool.
Love the owl.
And mushrooms… you saw so much. Thanks for sharing with us πŸ‘‹πŸ»β˜€οΈ
Have a great evening!

Thanks πŸ™‚ my walk turned into a nature walk I guess 😊

It did 😊 so wonderful to see πŸ₯°

Cool pictures especially the one with the owl. You have the eye to spot it πŸ˜€
Have a great day.

Thanks. Have a good one πŸ‘

A winter moth. I had never heard of them. You got a great photo of it! There used to be many more barred owls in my neighborhood, but now I rarely hear them. Hope the eagle finds good fishing and stays around for a while!

Maybe the winter moths haven't made it to Wisconsin yet 🀞 We have been hearing a barred owl near our house as we get back from our morning walk lately ❀️ I love eagles. I am envious of you seeing them on the river so often.