A Wednesday Walk Around My Home - by Sunscape

in Wednesday Walk11 months ago

hive-garden-flowers-a.jpg

Welcome to a Wednesday walkabout at my urban homestead in western New York. Usually, I share photos of my flowers and vegetable plants up close and personal. Today, I will share a larger photographic overview of my yard and gardens as I take you around my entire home. So let's go and take a walkabout together.


yard-13.jpg

Here I am standing in the furthest garden that sits on the South side of my home. This bed literally goes from the street all the way back to the edge of my property on the North side of the house. I have just planted the annual flowers beneath the Bradford Pear tree. This is a partially shaded area that does not require much maintenance.


garden-1.jpg

As you can see it is a long distance to the backyard where the greenhouse is. This bed averages about 12' wide throughout and is planted with shrubs, perennials, and veggies mixed throughout.

yard-12.jpg

Along the front of the house I plant annual salvia, calendula, and border zinnias alternating each. Behind the flowers, I plant winter squash as they have room to ramble the entire front of the house.

West Gardens


yard-14.jpg

As we walk through the first trellis covered with my Wisteria vine, we enter the vegetable garden where I plant as much as I can into a somewhat small area. I love having most of the veggies in this area as they receive a great deal of sun and I have a watering system running throughout which cuts down on dragging a sprinkler around.

yard-16.jpg

yard-17.jpg

yard-19.jpg

hive-gardening-veggies-6.jpg

yard-11.jpg

North Western Gardens


yard-9.jpg

This is another shady area of the yard where I let ferns, heuchera, and peonies fill in naturally. My hammock is in this garden underneath the tree for some afternoon siestas.

hive-garden-flowers-10.jpg

The Backyard


yard-7.jpg

Most of my time is spent relaxing on the porch and enjoying a lazy afternoon watching the wildlife. This is the hummingbird and butterfly garden where I grow lots of zinnias, salvia, sunflowers, and a variety of perennial plants as well. Plus I have a little firepit where we enjoy a few campfires on the cooler nights throughout the summer months.

yard.jpg

yard-20.jpg

Northeast Yard


yard-2.jpg

This is the most neglected bed where I have 3 lilac trees and a Koren lilac bush. I let Plumbago and a ground cover take over. The soil is practically all clay and nothing grows well here so I let nature handle this one for the most part.

yard-4.jpg

We have temporary fencing all around the backyard to keep our 9-month-old puppy safe and secure. We are hoping that she will eventually listen enough to stay in her own yard. Only time will tell as she is very curious and wants to chase all the critters.

The property backs up to a nice stretch of woods where we see the deer, turkey, fox, and rabbits all the time.

East Side


yard-23.jpg

Here is our covered woodshed and where I have a raspberry patch underplanted with violets

yard-21.jpg

This flower bed has daffodils, daylilies, salvia, calendula, and a funky-looking cedar. It sits next to the driveway near the street which is opposite the southwestern garden with the Bradford Pear. This will fill in nicely with the annual flowers for the bees and butterflies to enjoy.

I hope you have enjoyed taking a #wednesdaywalk with me around the urban homestead. This post was inspired by @goldenoakfarm who asked about how much growing space I have. As you can see, I pack a lot of plants into small areas to maximize my garden space.

Thank you all for taking time today to stop by and may your gardens bring you great joy. Thank you @tatoodjay for giving us a space to share our walkabouts.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Hello dear friend @sunscape good day
I appreciate that you have shown this beautiful place where you live, you have very beautiful plants and flowers
beautiful walk, enjoy it a lot

Thank you so much, @jlufer it was a different style post than I normally do about my gardens. Glad you enjoyed it.

thanks for the tour of your gardens and WOW you are doing such a great job they look so beautiful

Thank you so much, Jay. It is a lot to take care of but I don't have many hobbies anymore so it keeps me occupied. Thanks for the #Wednesdaywalk

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much @qurator for your continued support. ♥

Geez, when you told me how big your yard was, I thought, not a lot of room. But boy oh boy did you maximize what you have. I wish my gardens looked so good! What a wonderful pictorial visit to your gardens! I really loved it!

Thank you very much, some day I may do a post of the past and the present to compare how much I have changed things up. I am glad you enjoyed seeing how I do things here in my little neighborhood. You were the inspiration and reason for sharing it. ♥

All is so beautiful my dear😍😍😍

You are always so sweet Denisse, I am glad you got to see my home and gardens. Much love to you and your family.