Wednesday Walk: a few streets on Vasilevsky Island

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

IMG_20211003_165738.jpg

I was in a hurry for a meeting and decided to take a shortcut by walking through a courtyard with a children's playground. I was almost to the next street, when suddenly I felt that someone was watching me. I had to slow down a bit and look around. The huge eyes of a blue striped cat were looking right at me! There were two behemoths standing in front of me, one dressed in a navy turtleneck and the other in a uniform jacket with anchors.

IMG_20211003_165753.jpg

IMG_20211003_165829.jpg

IMG_20211003_165912.jpg

It was a nice sunny day. After the meeting I decided to take a little walk through the streets of Vasilevsky Island. At first I just walked wherever I could see and photographed graffiti and other interesting details.

IMG_20211003_170128.jpg

IMG_20211003_181952.jpg

I saw an unusual fence in one of the streets. I thought there would be a turn or a gate, but it was just a little niche. What was it there for? I don't know.

IMG_20211003_180300.jpg

IMG_20211003_180251.jpg

Then I remembered that I had long wanted to see how the garden on Vasilevsky Island's 10th line had changed over the past summer, and my walk took on a specific purpose. I remember this garden well, because it is located near my university. My friends and I often rested in this garden during breaks between lectures when I was a student. At that time it was a very beautiful green garden.

IMG_20211003_173538.jpg

IMG_20211003_173329.jpg

From this garden there were two exits, one to the 10th line of Vasilevsky Island, the other to the 9th line of Vasilevsky Island through the yard of an apartment building. But a few years ago the house was put up for repairs, one of the exits was blocked by a fence, and the housing staff stopped putting things in order. The place lost all its attractiveness and became a dirty wasteland.

IMG_20211003_173429.jpg

IMG_20211003_173452.jpg

This summer, residents of nearby houses despaired of waiting for repairs and decided to put the garden in order by their own efforts. They cleaned up and removed all the trash, made a few benches and started organizing neighborhood meetings here. Soon they also managed to equip a ball court and install a few fitness equipment. The garden began to look like a nice place, although it is not yet as beautiful and nice as it could be.

IMG_20211003_173413.jpg

IMG_20211003_173651.jpg

Next to this garden is a cute little coffee shop, it's called Waffle Straws and Coffee, and I was hoping for a cup of hot coffee to warm me up on this fall day. Unfortunately, the coffee shop turned out to be closed and I had to limit myself to taking a picture of the door with a drawing of a waffle straw and a note of apology.

IMG_20211003_174223_1.jpg

SmartphoneXiaomi Redmi 3
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia

This is my entry for the #WednesdayWalk challenge by @tattoodjay.

Sort:  

Those are cool little things in the playground and the niche in the fence dies make one ponder why

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thank you! I really like Wednesday walks, it's a chance to stop rushing and look at the world around us more carefully.

Thats great thats the whole concept of the Wednesday walk :)

I love the blue cat, He's so cute! So are the other characters too ofcourse..lol...

It looks like you had an adventurous walk- it sure was a colourful one, which is my kind of favourite walk!

The blue cat is my favorite find! I haven't seen cats like this in other gardens, looks unusual and cute:) Thanks!

A cat that you could cuddle in bed- if he wasn't made of a hard material...lol...