Wednesday Walk for architectural gems

in Wednesday Walk29 days ago

PXL_20240507_2 01.jpg

This neighbourhood is like a patchwork quilt. First you walk past houses built in the 1950s. Then there's a long blank fence along the street, and behind the fence there's the noise of some kind of factory. A few more houses and you enter a quiet, cosy garden. The leaves on the trees have just blossomed, the apple trees are in bloom. The windows of the old house look into the garden. The architecture of the building is simple, but the proportions of the windows clearly tell about the XIX century. A few more steps and you find yourself on a wide avenue lined with modern high-rise buildings.

PXL_20240507_2 02.jpg

I had marked a few points on the map in advance to see old buildings with interesting architecture, but the logic of the walk made changes to this wonderful preliminary plan. I was going to start with a tour of the buildings of the Vazheozersky monastery of the Petrozavodsk diocese. I was especially interested in the preserved courtyard building, built by architect Nikonov at the turn of the XIX and XX centuries. The building of the monastery courtyard was rebuilt, but the architectural decorations were preserved. The renovation of the courtyard made it difficult for me to see it. But very near I saw another house, also built by architect Nikonov, and this house seemed to me very cosy and nice. This is the former cell block of the monastery.

PXL_20240507_2 03.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 04.jpg

What was a real surprise to me were the old red brick industrial buildings. When planning the route, I had missed this landmark. The red brick buildings belong to an old iron foundry. The administrative building stands out in particular. The turret in the centre of the building is decorated with a decorative weathervane.

PXL_20240507_2 05.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 06.jpg

In the neighbouring street stands another old red brick house. It is a residential building. The house was built in 1885 for the workers of the Maxwell factory. Maxwell's Mill is a weaving factory. The street on which this house stands is called Weaver Street. In a small square at the corner of the street is an unusual city sculpture called ‘Weaving Craft’.

PXL_20240507_2 07.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 08.jpg

I passed through a neighbourhood built up with model houses in the 1960s. The next point on my route was the Palevsky residential quarter. These houses were built for the workers of the chintz factory in the 1920s.

PXL_20240507_2 09.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 10.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 11.jpg

Near the house of the parish church of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God, I noticed carriages for workers and packing construction materials. This house has recently changed owners and renovation is starting here. The architecture of this church house is interesting because it is part stone and part wood.

PXL_20240507_2 12.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 13.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 14.jpg

I finish my walk near the administrative building of the iron rolling factory. This is probably one of the oldest buildings on my route, it dates back to 1864 but has been rebuilt several times since. There are several other interesting buildings nearby, and I think this is an area I'll definitely have to come back to again to see.

PXL_20240507_2 15.jpg

PXL_20240507_2 16.jpg

SmartphoneGoogle Pixel 3a
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia

This is my entry for the #WednesdayWalk challenge by @tattoodjay.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Good morning dear friend @tatdt
I loved this architectural walk, I enjoyed seeing the variety of buildings and the different architecture in them, it seemed like a beautiful and quiet place to live
Have a wonderful day

Thank you very much for stopping by, dear friend @jlufer
I'm so glad you enjoyed my walk!
Have a great day

I do love red brick buildings, fortunately we still have quite a few here in the UK although many were bombed in the wars.
I love how so much of the architecture is so varied

Thank you so much! I like old industrial architecture. We had a lot of buildings destroyed too. Some buildings were damaged during the war, others were demolished to accommodate new production. Fortunately, many old buildings have survived and they are protected as monuments now.