You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Walk Through Clark Botanical Garden

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

Its great that these estates which used to be only seen by the few rich elite are now open to be enjoyed by all, such a beautiful park, Love the chipmunk

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the comment. I visit the garden, and other 'retired' mansions in the area with my husband. I find it ironic that my husband's mother was a nanny in one of those mansions (I think the Vanderbilt's) when she immigrated from Ireland.

Labor was cheap back then, wasn't it? One of the costs that eventually became onerous as time marched on.🙂

I like your community very much. At this time in my life, a leisurely stroll seems much more congenial than a race.

Following my Family tree I had an distant relation that immigrated from ireland to the US and also worked as a Nanny in a Mansion so its a small world