You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A warm, wandering, wishful, wonderful Wednesday Walk through Port Melbourne to the beach and beyond

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

I am sure George would be happy with what he would see today, or saw this post show casing the beauty there

I love those old hotels and buildings that had such style back then

the views by the water are amazing and WOW that beach looks so inviting

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)
Do if you have time check out some of the other walk posts, its like a wee break from your day to day reality

Sort:  

Yeah I think George would be pretty happy with it too- definitely more now that it was in the old days when it wasn't as affluent as it is is now...

Yeah the beaches around there are pretty nice, though they do have to troll them with the tractor every day in summer so find all the needles and things...and the water is a bit cleaner up that end too for some reason, cause bearing in mind it's not a beach out on the open ocean, they're all in a large bay...

And I can't believe that there was actually a girl swimming! The sun was warm (not that much thought) but the wind was freezing and blowing a gale too....and I know that the water would have been freezing cause that's where I used to swim ( up a bit further though...) and it took weeks of really hot day to get it warm enough to swim in...

Totally agree, I love seeing everyone elses walking posts, I add them to my list of future travel destinations...I have seen so much more of the world on here than IRL too! So another brilliant use of Hive!

Sad the have to tractor them everyday to clean up the trash and needles same used to be done at the beach where i used to live in CT

When I was younger I would swim in the ocean almost everyday no mater the temperature it didnt bother me, must be getting old as it has to be warm for me now LOL

Yes, I do agree, but it's also the debris in the water itself. I remember it was pretty bad when I lived in St Kilda for my first 3 years here and Port Melbourne was pretty good, which I thought was odd because it is further up in the bay and right on the entrance to the shipping container docks, but then as the years progressed, so did the amount of human debris floating in too....

Thats a good point, and no on the public beaches here but not far from them I have seen signs about contaminated Shellfish which would make me wonder how safe the beaches really are
and i have seen Debri washed up on the beach often on my morning walks, thats why I always have a plastic bag with me so I can clean up a bit

Have a great day

Yes I used to too when I lived at the beach...

👍🙂👍