Wednesday Walk Fort Taber after the snow

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

Wednesday Walk Fort Taber after the snow

This post if for Wednesday walk challenge And Make me Smile Collaboration challenge, initially our collaboration was once a month but due to the popularity of it we have decided to make the collab a weekly thing :)

Any questions about the challenge read the guide at the Bottom of the post ;)

Wednesday Walk Fort Taber after the snow

We had a nice snowfall this past week, and a day or so after I did a morning visit to Fort Tabor, it was cooler than I normally like walking in, but I wanted to check out my new camera and got a few shots for this weeks post, I will tell you more about the camera in another post, but lets focus on my walk that morning


ww snowy-7.jpg


Sony A7iv 20mm F8 1/80 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I had to be very careful where I walked that morning, I stayed off the paths for the most part as there was patches of black ice everywhere making it very slippery, for the most part I walked on the grassy areas, and completed the walk with a couple of small slides but no falls

Some of the bunkers in the Fort coated with snow


ww snowy-6.jpg

Sony A7iv 20mm F8 1/80 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Now I will say these photos are not as good as they could be but thats not the camera fault, I hadn't set it all up properly but this walk was good to remind me of other settings I needed to adjust

There was some nice colors in the sky that morning


ww snowy-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 26mm F11 1/6 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This walk must have been two days after the snow as I notice you can see some grass showing, we had got about 6 to 8 inches of snow and it took a couple of days to melt away.


ww snowy-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 21mm F11 1/2 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Fort Rodman


ww snowy-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 19mm F11 1/4second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Easy to spot how far up the water came at high tide


ww snowy-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F11 1/2 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



ww snowy.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F10 3.2 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Weekly giveaway of shares

This week I am sending to the following who joined Wednesday Walk, for this week I did a random draw and the following each received some Hive @snook, @bozz, @sketch.and.jam, @ellenripley and @emjoe

And @elizacheng will send to @almi


As @elizacheng and I collaborated with our Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenges

And one person is randomly drawn who joins both challenges to receive one Hive from me and this week it is @TBA

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

Add a bit of a write up about where you walked

Just one Wednesday Walk tagged post a week

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all, especially if its not one of the first 5 tags or I may miss seeing it .

Following me and re-Hiving the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk.

Make me Smile Collaboration

As I mentioned above Wednesday Walk is collaborating with the [Make Me Smile] hosted by @elizacheng,

Here are the rules for her challenge

Your post can be writing, singing, video, poem,drawing, photography etc.... the most important part is your post Make me" smile, Remember, the ME is whoever read/view/listen to your post and this includes YOURSELF.
b. Your content must be ORIGINAL CONTENT
c. Please include at least 50 Words in your post

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

Wednesday walk footer.jpg



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

Teamusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!pinmapple 41.595524 lat -70.902749 long Fort Taber New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

I like the sunrise colours a lot, JJ, and the white on the ground looks very nice and interesting. It also makes the images much brighter - cool 😀


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

Thanks so much my friend I hope your week is going well

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

I have had two long and busy days, but the weekend is near 😁

You're welcome, JJ, hope you're having a nice day 🌞


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

The sun is shining and the temp is above freezing so a good say

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

We have also had beautiful weather, but the temperature was below zero. I didn't have any time to go outside anyway 😅


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay Hey! I don’t know how it happened, but I wanted to post my post in #wednesdaywalk, but it was posted in another tag and I couldn’t fix it.
My post: https://hive.blog/photographylovers/@ludmila.kyriakou/my-walk-in-a-small-park

No problem and thanks for sharing it here or I would have missed it

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Beautiful shots you have there. The clouds and the sunshine are magnificent. Love the contrast. Is the weather cold?
!BEER

Thanks and yes pretty cold at the moment yesterdays high was 14F which is about -10C, today it will warm up a little getting to 40F about 4C


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

That sky!! The water does magical things to the sky!

Ohh yeah the water adds so match if you catch a sunrise or sunset across it

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 88 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
!LUV some !BEER now and again
Have a great day

Good morning ☀️
What a beautiful sky! I have always been drawn to sky pictures, the colors, the clouds, the light, just awesome.
As always Jay, fantastic photos.
Enjoy the day

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
I did get lucky that day with some amazing colors in the sky

Have a great day

Hello friends. I like picture number 2, it looks like a bunker covered by snow. cool

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

and thats what the second photo is of an old Bunker installation covered with snow :)
Have a great day

You're welcome. Wow that's a beautiful bunker 😀

👍🙂👍

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Lovely work you have right here @tattoodjay! As always, I'm drawn to your works. Now I'm itching to go for a trip just to take photos. Hopefully things will be better here in my hometown, badly hit by the recent super typhoon.

I have seen news reports and posts about how devastating the Typhoon was for your area, I hope things can recover and get back to normal for you soon

I can say we're better now but electricity and water haven't been back in all affected areas.

Sorry to hear that, lets hope power and water return to all places soon

Finding the right feel of the camera most definitely has not taken you long, enjoyed the morning sky lighting up through the clouds especially at Fort Rodman and seascapes!

Enjoy the camera and many walks to come.

!BEER

Thanks so much, I was not so happy with these shots, but I know the settings I had forgotten to setup, so hopefully the next time I get out will do better


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It's as beautiful as a picture, hot and cold colors intertwine. it was great

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

The unique and interesting scenery, between the snow and the light from the sky, is so beautiful 🥰🥰

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

🥰 have a great day too @tattoodjay

👍🙂👍

The natural world is so masterfully beautiful. I love the skylight effects. ❤️ Perfect winter landscape!
Thank you for capturing those shot. great perspective has a wonderful sense of depth.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Man, that third photo is just amazing. All of them are of course, but that third one really speaks to me. Love it! Oh, a new camera? I can't wait to hear about it. New toys are always fun!

Thanks, funnily enough I almost didn't share these I just didnt feel they were as good as I had bene getting, maybe I was just having a bad morning when I edited them LOL so thanks so much for the positive feedback

Your photos are good and professional. I don't think anyone could do better than this in given conditions. I salute all those who won in the last week's draw.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Thank You!

and I was going out today but right now we have freezing rain sooooooooo

we will see.

Stunning photos!!!!!!!!!

Most welcome, stay warm and safe :)

Bright and magical color on the sky, white snow on the ground just made everything look beautiful and cool.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

I really need to go back down to Fort Dupont to take some pictures of those old bunkers by the water to share. I'm not sure they'll be as nice as these, but definitely by the water.

You should I would love to see them 👍

Hy, cool pics!
Cheers!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Looks amazing when the sun break through cloud formations like that, really awesome shots !

Thanks so much And yes I love the sun breaking through clouds

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tattoodjay(3/5) tipped @johannpiber (x2)
johannpiber tipped tattoodjay (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Beautiful travel!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

You know when to find those vanilla skys! i love your pictures dude!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

My pleasure, i will be checking your posts, thanks for sharing!

👍🙂👍

Beautiful colors indeed!

I have to say, in all honesty, I think looking at these photos of yours was just what I needed. We've had some extremely hot days here and just looking at your photos made me feel cooler...lol!

As always, awesome photos, @tattoodjay! Thanks for sharing them with us and enjoy your new camera!

Thanks so much glad they made you feel cool

For me it’s the opposite I need heat now lol

That makes sense...lol👍

Have a great day

images look beautiful

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

I would love to see a sunset during a snowy afternoon!
In order to see some actual (not much) snow, I need a 2hour drive from where I live so .. I do envy these images & place.. Just beautiful!

One day you will experience it
It is so different and exhilarating

These are really great pictures and your choice of location is awesomely beautiful.
Kudos

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Now those are some beautiful sunset pics!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Good morning... it is afternoon, hehehe!
Beautiful photos!
I come for the blue skies... it is always blue!

Good afternoon
I do love ice blue skies

I love it too, @tattoodjay!!!

Have a great day

Great pictures as always, I especially love those pictures with the golden sunrise. Sounds like you need special shoes to walk on the slippery roads, so if I had to jog there, I would probably slip and fall. Anyways, thank you for sharing and do stay warm. Enjoy the rest of your day and Thursday ahead :}

the last few days shoes with spikes would have bene handy, but if your careful where and when you walk it snot to bad here

Enjoy the rest of your day and week

Hi, great shots @tattoodjay , and here is my challenge post for this Wednesday challenge:

https://peakd.com/hive-155530/@dorika-bee/danasnja-setnja-po-sneznom-danu-todays-walk-on-a-snowy-day

Greetings and good luck wish you.
Dorika

Thanks so much for sharing the link here

Hi @tattoodjay , many thanks for creating this challenge, here is my post for challenge:

https://peakd.com/hive-155530/@bojan-bee/dan-i-noc-day-and-night

Greetings and good luck to all fo challengers here.

Bojan

totally my pleasure to host the Wednesday walk :)

Beautiful pictures.
Aj am Bojan in live in Serbian in town Vrsac.
Buy i good luck in jour jobs.
Sorry,a little speak English.

thank you

I think I may have visited Vrsac once, if I remember rightly its around 2 Hours from Belgrade and has a cool old castle there

Yes yes I live in Vrsac.

Nice, the photos taken are very good,the atmosphere of the sunrise and snow, like post ,thank you very much.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Wow your pictures look really breathtaking!! The colours of the sky and remaining snow are mesmerizing.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Wow, those beaches and bunkers in snow are absolutely stunning! I would not have wanted to be a soldier stationed in one of those bunkers in that kind of weather. I really love that sunrise shot with the tide out. Gorgeous!

Here's my contribution to the Wednesday Walk festivities of the week! https://peakd.com/hive-193552/@jayna/actifit-jayna-20220113t055948167z

Thanks so much perhaps I was being to hard on myself not being happy with my photos with all the kind comments

I fir sure wouldn’t have wAnyed to be stationed in those bunkers in winter

Thanks fir sharing your link here

Wow! The colors are so amazing! What a day for a walk! You honestly get brilliance! Thank you for sharing your walk with us. Here is my link!

https://peakd.com/hive-109288/@dswigle/covered-in-a-blanket

Thanks so much I honestly wasn’t to happy with these photos but after all the kind comments perhaps I was being to critical of them

Thanks for sharing your link here

Hello @tattoodjay , I failed in the time yesterday. Is it too late to make my post today🤔?

NO problem to share it today I only say if possible to post on a Wednesday so today is fine ;)

Snow white and blue sky together, I have that feeling where cold and heat meet now, great pictures, congratulations

Yes indeed, I do find the sunrises and sunsets are often more crisp and colorful during winter