Wednesday Walk the Acushnet Sawmill

in Wednesday Walk3 years ago

A walk around the Acushnet Sawmill

First an apology each week I try to read and leave a meaningful comment on every entry to the Wednesday Walk but with an injured finger I am trying to give it a break so my comments will be a bit shorter this week

This post if for Wednesday walk challenge And Make me Smile Collaboration challenge, initially our collaboration was once a month but due to the popularity of it we have decided to make the collab a weekly thing :)

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

Add a bit of a write up about where you walked

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all, especially if its not one of the first 5 tags or I may miss seeing it .

Following me and re-Hiving the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk.

Make me Smile Collaboration

As I mentioned above Wednesday Walk is collaborating with the [Make Me Smile] hosted by @elizacheng,

Here are the rules for her challenge

Your post can be writing, singing, video, poem,drawing, photography etc.... the most important part is your post Make me" smile, Remember, the ME is whoever read/view/listen to your post and this includes YOURSELF.
b. Your content must be ORIGINAL CONTENT
c. Please include at least 50 Words in your post

My Walk this week that I will share is a walk around the Acushnet sawmill a nice little park, I have bene out walking everyday but many of my walks have been in the local Mall which opens two hours early for walkers, and with some cool days of recent I haven't been walking outdoors much, but I did take a couple of walks this past week.
The first one by the beach at sunrise, the temp at the time was 26F with a breeze making it feel even colder, needles to say that was a short walk, this second one and which I will share some shots of today was in the Sawmill, I thought I would play around with my fisheye lens for the first loop around it and then get some other shots with a standard lens.

This first shot is with my Tamron 28-75mm Lens and is it just me or does this plant look like a dog to you?

I have to say when I spotted it I did have a little chuckle and a smile


ww sawmill fisheye and details-5.jpg


Sony A7iii 68mm F8 1/60 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Now this next shot is the seed pod I gues sit is which that first little doggie thingy seemed ot have come out of


ww sawmill fisheye and details-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 44mm F8 1/60 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And now a few shots with the fisheye, looking across the pond, the colors all fading away


ww sawmill fisheye and details.jpg

Sony A7iii 11mm1/200 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



A sign pointing out the trail, I could have adjusted this to not have the fisheye type of distortion but I liked it as it is


ww sawmill fisheye and details-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 11mm 1/250 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger


A week or two ago this field and trees were full of warm autumn colors but not fading away to browns


ww sawmill fisheye and details-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 11mm 1/160 second ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Weekly giveaway of shares

This week I am sending to the following who joined Wednesday Walk, for this week I did a random draw and the following each received some Hive @godslove123, @joanstewart @lynnnguyen @mrnightmare89, @ninahaskin, @oceanbee, @priyanarc, @qwerrie, @suzana72 and @zirochka

And @elizacheng will send to @dreemit


As @elizacheng and I collaborated with our Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenges

And one person is randomly drawn who joins both challenges to receive one Hive from me and this week it is @TBA

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

Wednesday walk footer.jpg



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!pinmapple 40.748761 lat -74.004153 long the Highline NYC d3scr

Sort:  

That's a lovely dog - yes, I can see it clearly 😃
That's an interesting, nice looking plant - we don't have such here, or I just have never seen something like this here 😉
This fisheye lens produces fascinating images.


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

👍🙂👍

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


~~~ embed:1468610807327907841 twitter metadata:dGhleWNhbGxtZXhvaXN8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vdGhleWNhbGxtZXhvaXMvc3RhdHVzLzE0Njg2MTA4MDczMjc5MDc4NDF8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Haha, your first shot drew me in... was trying to figure out what I was seeing.... Thought it might have been a bit of fluffy cloud from a sky that @tattoodjay usually shares! Take care of that finger - it needs rest. And take a break this week and next if needed. Get better soon!!
Edit: I wanted to say too: that first view across the pond is charming... :)

When I saw that little plant thingy it just made me smile and I had to get a shot
I have been good with resting my finger for a couple of days now, feeling slightly better but will keep taking it easy till I see the Dr on Froday

I also thought it looked cloudy and fluffy lol.A very nice shot

Oh Jay! you still have some beautiful autumn leftovers to look at! and in Russia most of the areas are already well-covered with more or less thick amounts of snow. But we still walk and I will share what I can 😋
cheers!
and a !BEER...
need not for a cool-down in the fridge any more, hehe

Yeah we have only had one small dusting of snow so far, may get some tomorrow but probably less than an inch

thanks for the !BEER


Hey @qwerrie, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 84 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
13

!LUV some !BEER now and again


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

I feel like it's more like a dragon than a dog. The reflection of the sky on the pond is really beautiful. Very calm and peaceful.

Now that you mention it yes I see the dragon more ;)

Awesome shots as always! That fisheye lens really does make a difference with some of those landscape photos. I love it! I hear you about the cold weather and making it as short walk. My wife and I went out the other weekend and I think we spent a new speed record for ourselves because we just wanted to be out of the wind!

Ohh yeah the wind make sit even worse doesnt it

Just brutal yes!

Oh what an awesome framework for a walk challenge. I will definitely try to make some of these type of posts. I love, love, love seedpods! There is something so beautiful and otherworldly about them. The fact that they contain future life within them adds to the allure!

I love walking so starting this Wednesday Walk tag and challenge was a no brainer for me lOL

Terrific photos @tattoodjay!! I know exactly what that plant is as I've spent the last couple of weeks photographing it also and collecting the seed pods. The floss or silk of the Milkweed is pretty and it is amazing how it can carry the seed. It is beautiful to see the sunlight on the floss and I planned on doing a post of it also. I collected some of the pods just before they were going to open so I could drop some seeds in a much further away area of the yard. It is a great plant for the Monarch butterflies! 💖

Thanks for the info :)
Please tag me when you do your post I would love to see it

You're very welcome! I will be sure to do that! 😉💖

1st photography is wonderful, mysterious, and atmospheric all at once! ❤️
Loving the lushyy feel so much!
absolutely amazing work dear @tattoodjay

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Hey @tattoodjay, I love the first photo the most. It truly looks like a happy Chihuahua with two smart eyes and a cute nose.
I have to miss my wednesday walk this week. But I still take a walk around the world by interesting posts on this community. 😃

Thanks for the visit and support

These are awesome photographs. Your post inspired me to do my first in this community.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

What an interesting and beautiful shot.
And like always, I love, love your photography.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Those seed pods look awesome ! Love how you captures all the fine details. Looks like something I saw in the Avatar movie !

Thanks so kind of you to say

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tattoodjay.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I agree, it does look like a little doggie :) But - big surprise - my favorite photo is the one you took with the fisheye lens of the pond reflecting the clouds.

I might not be able to join the walk today, I'll have to see how the rest of the day goes.

Happy walking! And let that finger heal, maybe use speech to text?

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you very much for support my work @tattoodjay 🥰🌼

Beautiful photos ❤️

👍🙂👍

I love how the pond picture turned out. The reflection of the sky blue sucks you in. I like that. I have been messing with the fisheye lens on my phone but it isn't all that great. I found the videos come out better than the pictures do coz my phone camera is a little low quality. haha.

The alpha mirrorless series has always been a grail for me. I find it so cool that you are still sticking with the a7 and it's already like 2-3 years now?

Almost 4 years old they brought out the A7iv just recently open for preorder but waiting fir a few hands on review before I decide whether upgrade

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tattoodjay(1/8) tipped @johannpiber (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

What a beautiful day, I always love to walk in such locations, so calm and quiet, and always helps me to find myself again. Walking and exploring such locations always allow me to come up with an open mind with a new perspective. The photos are stunning...

Thanks for the giveaway... Have a nice week...

Great photo! Thanks for this walk!

I really loved all your photos but your first photo a little bit more
I hope you feel better soon, and try to take it easy!

The third to the last photo ... it is so beautiful, @tattoodjay!
I make my mind wander... what if...
Hahaha, first shot does look like a dog!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Thank you for the Wednesday walk.
I love your shot of the dam/lake, the contrast of the sky and the lake against the landscape.
My contribution.
https://hive.blog/hive-155530/@hope777/wednesday-walk-between-the-flowers

heheheheh the first two!!!

my faves (and don't respond to me - protect that finger please!!!) I know you will when you can - that's enough :)

but the two pictures at first - they are like fairy pods. hehehe little beds and fluffy things that fairies leave all around and make into their homes and cushiony things hehehehe

i love them! you should do more of those!!!! they are so fun! hehehe

👍🙂👍

Thank you very much my friend @tattoodjay. 😊

Such lovely, intimate images of the seed pods. Wow!

I'm sorry to hear about your injury. I hope you are on the mend, @tattoodjay.

I had fun with my Wednesday Walk post this week... :-)

https://peakd.com/hive-193552/@jayna/actifit-jayna-20211209t060019183z

That first photo definitely looks like a dog maybe a Poodle dog must admit I had a bit of a chuckle how hilarious we are growing dogs now 🤣

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Thanks for sharing your walk, I like your photo at the pond the most, the water surface reflected the blue sky nicely, it looks so peaceful over there. Hope your finger get better soon. Take care!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Wow very lovely pictures

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Nice Acushnet sawmill park photography.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

The loveliness is brought out by your superb editing skills. Mother Nature finds a way of spreading her seeds resulting in such interesting images. Your eye for detail is awesome. Sometimes it is so hard to reel in the big picture and pick out the smaller one.

A wonderful walk. I love your new area!

Here is my link, even though you already found mine!

https://peakd.com/hive-109288/@dswigle/guarding-the-door

Yes I can see the dog too and it also looks like something that @felt.buzz would make too!

Great shots!

I remember back in the mid 80's I had an old 35-75 Tamron lens too!

What a blast it was! and what a great shot it gave you now too.

Hope you finger is getting better!

Thanks I have been very good at resting my hand so let’s see what the dr says today

Fingers crossed! (on the other hand though...🤣..)

it was still swollen but at least now I dont have to wear the metal brace thingy all the time, I go back in three weeks for another check on it, but trying to exercise it and get it moving a little again now :)

Yes, well now you need to get those good blood cells in there to do their thing!

Slow and steady wins the race remember! 😃

Thanks, its slowly improving :)
have a great day

Great to hear!

Keep up the good work!