A Purposeful Wednesday Walk

in Wednesday Walk27 days ago (edited)

On this stormy day, I took a beautiful walk around the village to visit an elderly friend who has no one with her and who recently had hip replacement surgery.

On my way, I enjoyed looking at the flowers blooming.

Fields are getting greener.

Fresh leaves are sprouting.

She lives in one of these old rectory, converted to a home.

I brought a snack for her and a bag of basic medical supplies she might need that I sourced from Boots Pharmacy earlier today.

I felt fortunate to have seen her today. Her wound dressing was soiled and needed changing, and she hadn't put on the anti-embolic stockings (to prevent blood clotting), which are supposed to be worn for two weeks. The caregiver who usually visited her hadn't managed to put them on; she was concentrating on washing her hair. I wasn't sure why she prioritized that, but I was pleased I managed to put them on for her and also changed her wound dressing to prevent any infection. She had so many questions and uncertainties that I clarified and comforted her. She was very thankful. It made me think that community nurses are needed in this country, and it also made me consider volunteering once in a while as it feels good to deal with an awake patient. In theatre, we always deal with patients who are asleep (under anesthesia).

After that, I gave her a slice of cherry pie that I cooked earlier, and we had a cup of tea and a lovely little chat. She was very thankful for my presence.

Walking home in the storm, but my inner peace and satisfaction from helping someone in need illuminated my walk.

Have a wonderful Wednesday, everyone!

Mariah 💗

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)
Have a great day :)

You're welcome, have a lovely day ahead! 😊

👍🙂👍