A very special trip at the mountain villages of Arcadia, Greece

in Wednesday Walk3 months ago

IMG_3088.jpg

When it's cold you dream of a hot summer day and when it's hot you miss the cold. For me the second case is not an option, but here I am in a cold winter night feeling nostalgic about a trip I made in summer to one of the coolest (both metaphorically and due to low temperature) villages in Peloponnese. It was an one day trip with my father and my brother, a very sentimental trip, but here I will focus on the beauty of the place. Right now, the temperature there must below zero and if we had a normal winter it should have been already covered with snow. Which means that it is the ideal place to be on a heatwave, relaxing under the thick shadow of the huge plane trees.

IMG_3089.jpg

I am sure I have mentioned it again, but plane trees are my favorite trees. The sound of their leaves on a breeze, their color, the feeling I get when I am around.

IMG_3092.jpg

IMG_3091.jpg


1.127m above the sea and full of trees, stone-built houses, narrow streets and very friendly people, this is the village of Kosmas. The last years it has become a destination, but it stills keeps its character and a very low profile. The quality of what is offered is high and the prices are very normal. Everything is so simple here.

IMG_3067.jpg

IMG_3066.jpg

IMG_3068.jpg


The most important is the beauty of the nature surrounding it. There are paths at the mountain, in the chestnut forest nearby, the spruce forest all around, the springs. Definitely a place worth visiting. I want to go back in late spring for all the herbs and in autumn for the chestnuts, it's good to have goals in life, right?

This walk was focused on the village itself.

IMG_3083.jpg

IMG_3076.jpg


When we arrived there was a fiesta in the village's main square. Many people, happy vibes, it was a warm welcome :)

IMG_3065.jpg

Apart from that, it was very calm.

IMG_3095.jpg

And it looks like there is a coca-cola trace almost everywhere in this world :) Even if you have driven all these turns going up the mountain on a demanding route, you can't escape.

IMG_3078.jpg


The signs below show the way to heaven, traditional pastries :)

Galaktoboureko (custard filled pastry)
Karydopita (cake made with walnuts and covered with syroup)
Baklava (I think this one is famous)
Kantaifi (no idea how to describe it!)

I had a galaktoboureko and it was dreamy!

IMG_3084.jpg


On another tree, there were signs devoted to the man that planted the plane trees in November 1882. Over 140 years old. That was a really good idea :)
At the end of the square there is a spring, lot of water to keep them growing.



There are places that even if you have never been there before, they are important to you. That trip was not about going to Kosmas. The beautiful village of Kosmas was the end of our trip, but the real destination was another small village nearby, the place where my grandfather was killed during the civil war.

IMG_3050.jpg

A tiny village, mostly abandoned that means so much to me and my family.

IMG_3063.jpg


This is my #wednesdaywalk contribution for the lovely challenge by @tattoodjay :)



All the pictures and the words are mine.
If you would like to know more about me this is my introduction post.