Dancing leaves and running water - Richtis gorge

in Wednesday Walklast year

IMG_0931.jpg

Don't these leaves look like dancing? There was not even a slight breeze to move them but even still they seem to have some motion. I got so excited walking amongst them yesterday while hiking in Richtis gorge, a small but quite famous gorge close to our house.

So, this is the first post of the year to accompany the first hiking of the year!
@fotostef and I have already mentioned this beautiful gorge a few times already and you can see here the post of @fotostef as well from yesterday's walk. It is a great place for hiking and disconnection from the outer world. A small ecosystem on its own. Cool in summer and full of water during winter. I have never been here again in January and it was a bliss! Although the colors seem to have more autumn melancholic shades, there is quite a lot of water already, and the sound of the running water while you walk parallelly should be given as a prescription for happy tails :)

Cause there is definitely a happy dog somewhere around, I found this trace.
I'd say a black dog around 20 kilos...

IMG_1020.jpg

And yes, I was right!

IMG_0916.jpg

IMG_0876.jpg

It was the three of us and we had the gorge for ourselves!

IMG_0993.jpg


I am not a great fan of new year's resolutions, but after 2 months of hard work in olive harvesting, I think that what I honestly and deeply want this year is having time for proper deep rest and connection with nature through playful carefree activities. Exactly as it was this one!

IMG_0930.jpg

Everything was so calm. Just the sound of birds, water running and the leaves cracking under our footsteps.

IMG_0954.jpg

IMG_0960.jpg

IMG_0955.jpg

I think it is quite obvious that I was looking down almost all the time :)
Well, if you don't look down you will probably end up all wet, plus it was slippery, and also the leaves were absolutely gorgeous.

IMG_0929.jpg

And the roots of the trees like sculptures on our trail.

IMG_1012.jpg


Markos, our canine companion, gets overexcited in such places. Who can blame him? I have dozens of blur photos of him cause he was running like he was possessed! He looks like a sweet puppy in the photos, but that was not so true :)

IMG_0989.jpg

IMG_0972.jpg


I was also looking up from time to time :)
They all look like creatures to me. Dancing, moving with elegance.
Made me want to walk as gently as I could. What a beautiful world we (can) live in...

IMG_0880.jpg

IMG_0902.jpg

Anyone who know me, knows I love details.

The whole place is beautiful!

IMG_0979.jpg



But someone thought we were too slow...

IMG_1008.jpg

"Oh, come on hoomans! I am waiting for you all the time! Don't overthink about it, it's just some water. Come on, one step after the other!"

I think Markos knows better :)
Small steps, small achievable goals!
Warm wishes to everyone for a joyful, playful happy new year with good health (mental and physical) and love.

And happy walks!
This is my #wednesdaywalk contribution for the wonderful challenge by @tattoodjay!


PS 1. I had no intention of staying away from Hive for so long, but physical tiredness won. I will try my best not to let it win again :)
PS 2. The credits for this walk go to @fotostef. I had plans for some boring work when he proposed a walk at the gorge (am I a lost case? maybe, but I am kidding!), so I am grateful he saved me :)

IMG_0904.jpg



All the pictures and the words are mine.

If you would like to know more about me this is my introduction post.

Sort:  

Amazing pictures, specially with the dog🤗

Thank you for stopping by @terry.aya! Doggy also thanks you for your kind words :)

Really lovely! Thanks for sharing! Good shots of doggy.

Thank you so much dear @goldenoakfarm!
Doggy had a great time, haha!

What a beautiful place!
The photos were incredible!
Thanks for sharing.



Join us on our discord and learn about our project.

Thank you @nexo.voter!
The place is magic and that helps a lot with the photos :))

That was a great walk. It made me missed hiking. It's been a long time I haven't join a hiking. It is the one I love when I was still single.

Oh those fallen leaves that piled up reminded that there were lots of trees around.

Thank you sweet @jenthoughts for stopping by! I wish you beautiful walks and hiking again soon :)

Although the colors seem to have more autumn melancholic shades

That was my immediate thought!

The huge leaf reminds me of a Breadfruit leaf;))

Absolutely stunning. I bet the sound of running water made it ever so magical 💚💛

Oh yes, it feels like magic walking through this place :)
Breadfruit? Interesting! Unfortunately we don't have these beauties here :)
These are plane leaves, the gorge is full of plane trees, one of my favorites!
And a lot of fig trees, that still have their leaves on and it's Jnuary. Everything stills smells like autumn, the temperature is pretty high and as I am not a great fan of winter I really enjoy it! xxxx

Such beautiful photos, I love I can visit you and @fotostef posts of a walk in the same spot and see the different perspectives and beautiful photos you get on your walks

Love that gorge it must be so refreshing walking there

Thanks for joining the Wednesday, its always fun for me to visit the walks from all around the world, getting a feel for communities where people live and what they see on their daily walks

Thank you @tattoodjay! Super refreshing, especially the sound of the water. I love this place!
Always a great pleasure joining the Wednesday! And it is always interesting for us as well to see how different the two posts are, both in words and photos :)
Happy new year!

I was imagining the sound of the water while viewing your posts :)

Oh, so nice!!!

Wow... This is amazing. It is fantastic and I do agree you need that rest amid nature. Thanks for sharing this.

Thank you @balikis95! Oh yes, I do need it :)) I hope you can also find what makes you happy!

Nature makes me happy too so we are both on the same boat here😁.

Definitely yes :) 🦋

😁😁

😁😁

Great pictures and choice of words. Really nice to read, I wish you your wanted rest to cobnect with nature

Thank you so much @pegarissimo! Glad you enjoyed it! And happy new year!

Such a beautiful place, it's still so green, in winter 🙂 Really nice photos.

I think that what I honestly and deeply want this year is having time for proper deep rest and connection with nature through playful carefree activities.

Sounds like a wonderful intention 🌸

So nice to see you back on Hive, I have noticed your absence and you have been missed 💚 But I completely understand, I haven't been so active myself.

xx

Still so green, yes! Most of the trees have their leaves on, which is amazing! The winter will come here too, just not yet :)

Sounds like a wonderful intention

Thank you! I thought that working in nature is not that different than just being in nature, but after this hard period of olive harvesting for two months I realized that these are two separate things and I need the second one, haha, just to be :) It took me 9 years to come to this conclusion, but better than never :))

So nice to see you back on Hive, I have noticed your absence and you have been missed

Nice to see you too! So sweet of you, makes me feel really nice ❤️