Am I Still In Japan? | Walking Around Onjuku

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

Happy Wednesday! I'm joining another round of #WednesdayWalk initiative by @tattoodjay.


Today I'll take you with me to a small town in Chiba. This small town is called Onjuku (御宿). If not because of my friends who invited me to go swimming, I would not know of such a serene and beautiful town.

Chiba Prefecture is the neighbor of Tokyo. This part of Chiba is somewhat far from Tokyo that we had to travel 2.5 hours by train to reach this place. My friends and I went to this faraway place to enjoy summer in the beach. I won't be talking about the beach in this post though, that would be in my next post.

My first impression of this place is.. why does it feel like it's not Japan?!

The trees are so rare to find in Japan. The hotels don't feel like the hotels you will find in the metro. The town is quiet, well, as what I would expect from a small town.

This is the complete opposite of what I am so used to in my daily life in Tokyo!

The vibes of this place is what I have imagined to be California. Am I right? 😂 I actually haven't been to California so I wouldn't know, just saw it in TV shows, movies and from the stories of my partner.

There's this wide river that is connected to the sea. This angle though is the residential area. The photo below is the view to the sea but I think it's hard to see.

Okay, I used a cheat from Google Maps and found out why I can't see the sea from where I was taking the photo. Turns out there's like a curve. No wonder why I couldn't see the sea.

Screenshot from Google Maps

The photos above was what I took going to the beach. As I've said above, I will be reserving the rest of the photos in my next post so don't ask for bikini shots in this post please. 😂

We left the beach before sunset so my next photos will be our walk to the station. The beach to the train station is a 10-minute walk and we're the only ones walking at that time!

I am in that bridge again where I took the shots of the river

Looks like a hotel but it seems like an apartment

Seems like a hotel, just my guess

The entire time we were walking in the morning and in the afternoon, I didn't notice other people walking just like us. Sure there were a few cars, but you won't really notice them. The town's too quiet, as in eerily quiet. It's so peaceful. Though I don't want to be walking around here at night time.

I found something interesting but it's too late already. I would want to go inside and explore the place but we're going to go home now. All of us were too tired, and if I knew about this museum earlier, maybe I would have sneaked out.

Found these plants. I thought I'll only get to see this in tropical countries but I was wrong. Wonder what would this plant look like during winter.. 🤔

Plants along the road

Who would have thought that it's already 6PM? It's still bright. But it's time to call it a day.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wittyzell ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Napaka peaceful naman po ng place. Parang hindi Japan and based sa photos mopo wlang sasakyan na asa daan nakaday off sila 😅.
Looking forward sa beach adventure niyo next time.

It was indeed so peaceful!
There were cars but I only noticed a few. I think those cars were from the beachgoers, and not really from the residents of the place.
So not Japan, right!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Just looking at the photos I would not have guessed it was in Japan it does look so serene and beautiful there thanks for sharing this side of Japan with us

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I didn't even know that I can find such a rare place few miles from Tokyo. It's really a good find! There's really more to see in this country, right? It doesn't look Japan but it is still Japan.

Thanks for being here @tattoodjay!

I look forward to see more of your exploration there ;)

Oh gosh! I adore Japan's calm, quiet, and serene atmosphere. Compared to Tokyo's busiest metropolis, it is rather uncommon.

You have the impression of being in California or somewhere along those lines, Miss. The hotels have a Manila condo-like appearance.

Usually the countryside is like this. But this place is just too quiet. 😅
I wonder where the residents are.

Yeah the place is giving me the California vibes that we usually see in movies. The hotels, hmm now that I think about it, it kinda looks like the condos in Manila. I have only been to Manila a few times though, but yeah they kinda look like it.

Wow, it's a beautiful place. I'm glad you found it different from what you usually find in Japan, so you escape from the routine for a while.

I hope soon to read about the beach you found over there.

I was actually complaining to few of my friends because the train ride was so long but I'm glad I came! The beauty of this place is so not Japan, so it's really a rare find.

Thanks @crptogeek! The beach will be the next.

Well, the trip took a while but it was worth it. Best regards.

Oi oi, this is like our Town every morning. Super tahimik pa and ang unti talaga ng people. So very malayo if you are in the city no. If its me parang mas masaya maglakad lakad jan at night time. Lol. Tas naka headset tas naga headbang pa then mamya bigla nalang may hihila sayo, rawrrrrr haha. Kidding. But it's a good place, kaso naaalala ko sa lugar na yan ay yong girls and boys na nasa loob ang kulo 🙈🙉🙉 bat ganon 😅

Your imagination is so wild @ruffatotmeee 😂
You can already make a good story about the place. Horror and R-18 🤣

I will be reserving the rest of the photos in my next post so don't ask for bikini shots in this post please.

Humanda na kayo may pa bikini na sa next post hahaha.

HAHAHA! At yan talaga ang inaabangan mo @anonymous02 😂

Hahahaha boxing x bikini version daw😂

BWAHAHA! Malalaman mo yan sa takdang panahon~

There is nothing like having a holiday in such beautiful places in the countryside. Because they are quiet and calm. I am eagerly waiting for the other part of your post.

Btw yes, you are still in Japan 🤣

When I was here, I forgot I was still in Japan. No one in our group was speaking Japanese and it was so quiet so couldn't hear anybody else talking in Japanese.
So yeah, we just teleported to another dimension. 😅

I actually wish my holiday to be extended. I want to stay there more but it's too quiet, I'm kinda afraid of walking there at night.

Hahaha, that makes sense. If nobody speaks Japanese, you might not be in Japan 😂😂.

Maybe if you walk with your friends you won't be scared. But it's still scary to walk at night. It's like a horror movie and for some reason you're the first one to die.

Hahaha! We were all speaking in our mother tongue at that time. 😅

Don't make me be the first one to die please!
The place is like a setting for horror films. You know, story goes like a peaceful and beautiful place but at night, group of friends will disappear one by one. 😂

I don't want you to be the first to die, but unless you have a fat, glasses-wearing person in your group, I'm afraid you will be the first to die 😂.

That's some kind of character discrimination 🤣

It's not my fault. Go tell the script writers 🤣

Hey!
This is really unusual Japan! Yes, in some places it reminds of America, and in some places it even reminds of Europe). But by the way, I like it! Thanks for sharing!💪
!PIZZA
!CTP
!ALIVE

@wittyzell! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @stdd. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Europe? Really? Well, I haven't been to Europe so I wouldn't know but I would love to visit one day. 😅
!PIZZA

Yes, it's a must-see!)
!PGM

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
stdd tipped wittyzell (x1)
@wittyzell(1/15) tipped @stdd (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

That's a beautiful walk indeed! I can see why you thought of California. I bet it was the palm trees?

The palm trees and the overall vibes made me think of California. 😁

Next stop: California :D :D

Then back to Japan 😂

Lol! Yes :D

Its reminding me of this music "Small town boy in a big arcade" dunno why 😂

2.5 hours travel by train wow, that's so far but worth it.

Hehe I've also seen California in movies - last time in stranger things 😂 and yea vibes are matching

Wen bikini shots beach shots?

Beautiful walk in beautiful place and beautiful peeps so much fun haha.

Have a wonderful day ahead.
Thank for sharing

I haven't heard of that song. 😅
Beach shots - waittttttt for it 😂

It's a different face of japan.. Have you been to the countryside and secluded places?

I’ve been to some yeah, but not as quiet as this 😁 At least in the places I’ve been there are still people out and about..

What a great walk @wittyzell 😊
Interesting you found it wasn’t like Japan looks like. That you got a vibe of being somewhere else.
Especially after seeing those trees.
Great to go along with you, I enjoyed the walk. Thanks for sharing.
Have a wonderful day further 👋🏻😊

Thanks for enjoying the walk @littlebee4!
It's really unusual to see these trees here.

You are so welcome @wittyzell and that makes it rather interesting.
Happy Thursday 👋🏻😁

More of a Hawaii vibe for me, although I can understand the Cali vibe because of the palm trees. Looking forward to the beach post. I've heard there are some good surfing spots over in Chiba. Never been though.

I haven't been to Hawaii nor remembered researching about it.
I knew about the food though, it's kinda famous here in Japan, right? 😅
Thanks for looking forward to the beach post!

Kailan kaya ako makaka punta jan sa Japan isa pa naman sa bansa na gusto kong marating pero hanggang pangarap na lang

One day your dreams will become reality 😁
You'll never know, maybe an opportunity will arrive and you'll be able to come here

Nakatawa ko sa noodles with sand, crunchy. 🤣 hahaha, tried it before when we take some food to the beach.

It looks like California, ate because of the palms.

Oh my. Japan looks so peaceful, and calm. Normally, I'd like to take residency in a place like this, but I kind of am a night person. I take a walks at night, so when I saw that you mentioned "not walking around at nighttime", well you can imagine how spooked I was. So, maybe not. 😅

I'm VinceCharlie by the way. Nice to meet you. :D

Nice to meet you @vincecharlie!

I think it's okay at night time but I'm one of those people who watched too much Japanese horror films so I keep imagining there would be a ghost somewhere, especially in a quiet town like this. In Tokyo and Osaka though, it's still lively even at night time.