Window Shopping In The Luxurious Ginza

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

I'm joining another round of #WednesdayWalk initiative by @tattoodjay and this post will talk about how my Wednesday went. Actually I did this walk last Wednesday but I came home late so was not able to create and publish this post last week.


Have you heard of Ginza in Tokyo?

The iconic Seiko clock at Ginza

Ginza is a favorite place among shoppers, and not just ordinary shoppers but those with a lot of money to spend. Everywhere in Ginza screams luxury!

Why? Need I say more?

One of the many Gucci stores in Ginza

Soon to be opened Dior just beside Celine

Even people walking around here in Ginza are so fashionable. No, not the same fashion as people in Harajuku or Shibuya. I'm talking about high end fashion. Yes, the famous and high end fashion brands! I don't look at people with their clothing and I can't even guess what brand they're wearing but one look and you could tell it's expensive.

Ginza is near Tokyo station. You can actually walk from there to Ginza but for people not used to walking, I'd suggest to just take the subway. It's just one stop if you take the Marunouchi Line.

You might be wondering why I was here in Ginza. Actually, I came for the 100 yen shop here. 😂 It's cheap, I know, sorry I don't have a lot of money. 😂 I was looking for a place to get some stuff for the house and although there were a lot of options near me that time, the one in Ginza was most favorable for me.

The 100 shop I went to is named Seria. It's located on the 5th floor of a building called EXITMELSA. I've been here before but only up to the 2nd floor. Didn't know there's a 100 yen shop at the 5th floor.

From Ginza station, I walked to EXITMELSA because it's just so near. Usually there are a lot of people but in the street I was taking, there were less people. Probably because there were only a few opened stores in the street.

Suzurandori is the name of this street

Found a stylish Tea Store/Restaurant in Suzurandori

After shopping at Seria, I decided to roam around a bit around Ginza station since I was here already, might as well explore.

Wako Clock in Seiko House GinzaMitsukoshi Ginza, a department store

The intersection in Ginza is home to big buildings housing different kinds of brands from apparel to watches and a lot more.

Another department store San-ai Dream Center is a cylindrical building

Nissan showroom at Ginza Place

The intersection is an interesting place to watch people but I wanted to explore a bit more so I continued walking along the main Ginza shopping street known as Chuodori (中央通り which means Central street). I found my favorite brands (favorite only but can't buy from them) and took snaps to remind myself that maybe one day I can shop without minding what's in my bank account. 🙏😂

Fendi for my bags

Valentino for my clothes

Display at the window in Valentino

I found the 12-storey Uniqlo Ginza and it's really a massive one. On the top floor, you'll find the Uniqlo Cafe. There are seats in the cafe area and near the windows so you could view the streets. There's also a made to order apparel on one of the floors. It really embraced the luxurious feel in Ginza but still affordable.

Uniqlo Ginza

A lot of floors and all glass windows!

I continued walking along the road and realized it's not crowded on this part of the street.

I stumbled upon another favorite brand, Zara and I really forced myself not to go inside so I won't end up spending. The big SALE was really tempting but I have a lot of clothes already. Actually my house is just full of clothes 😂 Most of my clothes are from this brand.

Zara in Ginza

More brands but it's time for me to turn back

There were still more but it seems like I was getting farther and farther away from Ginza station if I continued walking along the road. I might reach Tokyo station. 😂

I turned back and try to explore a bit more on the other areas.

Cool clock on the pedestrian lane

Now in another street, I was tired already and sleepy but I wanted to continue exploring.

Coach on the other side of the road, HERMÈS beside it

I heard the HERMÈS building in Ginza has a gallery and movie theatre besides being the flagship store. I haven't confirmed this information because I don't wanna enter the building and be judged for not buying anything, or for looking poor. 😂

HERMÈS building

There's a Star Wars Galaxy in Ginza, hence the billboard of Obi-Wan. I didn't go inside, maybe next time. I heard there are a lot of goods inside.

Tokyu Plaza Ginza, another department store

There's also a movie theatre along the street. Below this street is where the subway is.

Cinema on the right

The window displays of Diesel were really interesting.

I found another 100 yen shop (this time, it's Daiso) nearby that's still opened, but I went to the one beside it which is called Standard Products by Daiso. Standard Products is an improved and kinda elegant version of Daiso. Their products are usually priced at 300 yen or more, depending on the item. Maybe I'll share about it next time.

It's now time to go home but wait, this place is a small park. Who would have thought there's a park in the middle of this bustling street?

Park above subway

Park on the left

That's how my Wednesday went. Despite being so sleepy, I was able to explore the area around Ginza.

Next time you want to go shopping, don't miss this place! Bring lots of cash or make sure your credit card is not yet on their limit. 😂 Ginza will really let you spend. 😂

I forgot to inform you that Ginza is not only about shopping but also has a lot of expensive restaurants. Maybe if I have the chance to dine in one of the restaurants here, I'll make sure to tell you about it.

Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

WOW. Absolutely beautiful! When I was young (the early '80s😅) Ginza to me was too expensive to do anything, but now I can see it's such an attractive place. The Hermes building is amazing, I'd love to visit there!

Your photo quality is so crisp (I guess it's Japanese standard!) I can't take my eyes off these photos. Thank you for the great post!

I wonder if in the early 80s Ginza is this beautiful already.
Right now, it's full of bright lights, well, as expected in the lively city.
When you go to the Hermes building, I hope you'll share about it since I really have no plans of going there. I don't think I belong inside. 😂

The photo quality? I don't know if it's Japanese standard. It's just my phone. 😂
Thanks for being here @dd01a! Really appreciate it!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello wittyzell

Ginza in Tokyo is a beautiful place.Photos of huge buildings are expectacular.Shoping must be very expensive.If the city is so fashionable, people will also be the same.

I hope have bought what you need.
Thanks for sharing your wednesday walk in Ginza.😄

Thanks a lot @th4488!
Shopping is expensive in this place that's true but only if you go to the expensive stores. I look for cheap ones so as not to spend too much. 😂
I guess you are right, since this place is full of fashion brands, people tend to wear them. So they are so fashionable.

Sobrang pleasing sa eyes yung place tsaka ang linis ng paligid 😍😍🥰

Naglinis ako para sa mga photos. Joke lang!
Yeah I think most areas in Tokyo are clean. High end yung place kaya minabuti rin nilang maglinis. 😅


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wittyzell ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow, this place looks very ✨️expensive✨️ If I were there, I think I'd feel very out of place (as a hampas-lupa haha). I really enjoyed reading your post, @wittyzell! Thank you for sharing 😊

Hahaha! It's really a luxurious place so when I come here, I try to dress nice and pretend I have money 😂😂😂 Para di mag mukhang hampaslupa

Awesome night shots in Ginza, I have heard of it, or maybe seen it in a movie but didnt know anything about it, it does looks very high end and not my kind of place, well the 100 Yen store may be more my style LOL

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

This district is really intimidating but there are a few places for people like us 😂😂
I think there’s a movie or a song about Ginza but I can’t seem to recall. Just my hunch.
Glad you enjoyed the night shots from my phone, really appreciate it coming from you

Indeed looks to busy and stuck up for me I am more a country boy at heart and hate big cities and crowds

I am sure it must have bene feautured in many movies

If I would choose between living in the countryside or city, I would choose countryside.
City is so crowded, that's why I don't go out most of the time. 😂

Same for me I hate big cities, when I worked in NYC I did enjoy walks around exploring it but at the end of each work day I was glad to get out of it

Same feeling! I guess the city life will always drain out your life span 😂

I think so as well, but now I am retired I am enjoying many walks in more open and natural places

😍Streets so bright, it doesn't atall look like night. Beautiful Ginza... Finally there's something in Japan I can relate too😂 Zara, I've got a white high top sneakers, love Zara.
Window shopping is super awesome❤️🛒🛍️

I think most crowded places in Tokyo are so bright even at night. You won't notice the time because it's still lively and bright.
I love Zara too! I'm happy to know you're also into Zara. 😂

I’ve only travelled through Ginza by bus. I don’t think I will find something interesting, for the reason I’m not that fashion person 😁 anyway, I’m happy that I had the opportunity to see the place.

Oh it's okay! I think there's so much more to see there besides the fashion brands but I still need to discover it. 😅

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1609.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Para syang Tsim Sha Tsui HK , puro branded stores..pinaka luxurious city dto

Parang pangalan ng restaurant sa Cebu yang Tsim Sha Tsui 😂
Kaya pala medj mahal dun

Really? Meron pla

What did you buy, ate?

Just some stuff for the house, that's all. 😂
Can't buy anything expensive

You're rich, ate. You're in Japan 😁

Hahaha! Not true 😂