How I Discovered a Charming Canalside Neighborhood Rich with Cats. Walking Adventure in Bangkok

in Wednesday Walklast month

March 22, 2024, heading to a neighborhood I had never been, exciting!

A 1.5-hour trip on a shabby bus through the red-hot afternoon city; no AC, all windows open with the winds blowing from each direction, every part of the bus rumbling, dusty ceiling fans whirring...

DSC_4926.JPG

Strangely, I like these trips. But I need a time to recover. Something cold to drink usually helps.

DSC_4928.JPG

An air-conditioned 7-Eleven convenience store, full of refreshing drinks and food, is the best after such a trip. These stores are everywhere in Bangkok, that's truly convenient.

DSC_4930.JPG

Having recharged, I dived into an alley and started the exploration.

DSC_4943.JPG

I was heading to an alley I found on Google.Maps. A quite hidden one, with a narrow bridge over a major canal. I knew that canal, it's quite busy with old speed boats plying along it, serving as public transportation. I had traveled on them many times and always wondered what was on the shores.

DSC_4947.JPG

At last, Google.Maps showed that I was near the alley leading to the bridges I had chosen to explore.

But what is this??

DSC_4944.JPG

The alley turned out to be a narrow canal with a pathway adjacent to it.

I was frozen in indecision - such a path could lead to courtyards of cramped neighborhoods, where, for example, there may potentially be angry dogs...

But OK.

Indeed, I came to a "cramped neighborhood" with a dangerous-looking dog (chained happily) with many Myanma women (covered with thanaka) relaxing there. There were two Thai monks there too. These people were having a talk, it could be a sort of serious talk, and I didn't want to be involved in this, considering I speak neither Thai nor Burmese. I passed quickly to the bridge and was rewarded with the view:

DSC_4953.JPG

Yes, these boats serve as public transportation, I travel on them from time to time.

I crossed the bridge and continued walking along the narrow canal (khlong in Thai):

DSC_4961.JPG

There was someone in the bushes squatting - I passed quickly saying "sorry" and thinking "Jeez!" That could be a homeless person who has no facilities other than bushes or a drunkard (few among Thais, but they exist too).

DSC_4993.JPG

At the end of the canal, I found ideal conditions for cat photography.

DSC_5107.JPG

Full of cats, firstly. Secondly, roofs are in front of you, you don't need wings or a drone.

DSC_5199.JPG

There is sunlight from the sun at the golden hour while most of the city is already in the deep shade at that part of the day. Look at that:

DSC_5019-2.JPG

I will return!

DSC_5032.JPG

That orange person decided to talk to me using not meows but "oh-no-no-no"-es. 😀 I couldn't help answering him in the same way: "oh, no, no, no, no!" and again and again. 😀

It turned out I wasn't alone in the alley. 😁 A boy was listening to cat screams in my performance 😁:

DSC_5043-6.JPG

When he saw I had noticed him, he disappeared in the house and returned with his own adorable pet.

😎

There was also a scene of people saving a cat who had fallen in the canal. 😀 I will share that in a separate post.

DSC_5077.JPG

From the canalside neighborhood, I went to a railside area I already knew.

DSC_5211.JPG

It was too late for another catsploring photo mission, I was just passing, heading to a nearby market and a bus stop.

DSC_5212.JPG

What luck that I found this area!

DSC_5229.JPG

Keep walking, delving into the blocks of multi-storey buildings...

DSC_5213.JPG

Photographing the last sun rays caught in wires...

DSC_5231.JPG

Gilded with sunlight brutal houses...

DSC_5245.JPG

People, more people, and again people. And new 1.5 hours in an old bus right to the faraway outskirt of Bangkok.

More images and stories from Southeast Asia are ahead! Check out the previous ones on my personal Pinmapple map.

I took these images with a Nikkor 50mm and a Nikkor 70-300mm on a full-frame DSLR Nikon D750 on March 22, 2024, in Bangkok, Thailand.

Sort:  

It is amazing to discover a city so far from my country just through the photos of your article.
Thank you so much for sharing Bangkok and the cats
Peace

Thank you! 🙂🥂

you always on the lookout for pussy??? LOL

I remember my travels round Thailand, 7eleven were a haven from the heat and humidity, just to wander round and cool down was worth the cost of a couple of red bull

Brilliant captures again

pussy

:D I had cat "expeditions" from time to time. But recently I thought I could start selling prints of cats one day and have even started Instagram for that reason. But Instagram and selling prints is a sooo long way... [emoji of low spirit]

7eleven were a haven from the heat and humidity

100% right. They are really helpful for returning the normal temperature of the body. :)

Thank you! :)

good luck with your venture

It's always a pleasure to look at your street photos, I always learn something new!... Thanks for sharing!

!discovery 35
!VSC
!BBH

@x-rain! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (4/5)

Muchas gracias!! 😊🌞🌻

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2167.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: