You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A short walk under a blazing sun

Wonderful journey around town again!

Seemed to me that 48 years being the longest reign is a little short. Then I thought about a half century ruling one of the most aggressive conquest empires, in the time of the Turks, man that is legit!

image.png
Kinda looks like the Vince Lombardy trophy too! ;)

Cheers Blue!

Sort:  

Hi, Zeke, please forgive me for failing to respond to a few of your comments, I'm ashamed because of that! There have been issues outside of my laptop that has taken up a lot of my time.

With King Carol it was easier with the Turks because he was related to the most important monarchies in Europe, i.e. England, the German principalities and was friends with Napoleon III. He took advantage of the Russo-Turkish war, allied himself with Russia, and thus gained independence but the Ottoman Empire was already weakened.

In art, as in music, there are many influences and copies, yes, this monument resembles the Vince Lombardy trophy and others... It was a big scandal but the sculptor cashed in big time!

I wish you a pleasant end of the week!