Wednesday Walk around Kyiv downtown

in Wednesday Walk10 months ago

Hello there! I am late for WednesdayWalk, but only for a day. 😊 You know how it is when everything goes wrong. Two days in a row. Moreover, the harder I try my best the worse it goes. By the end of my work day I learned a lot but no progress overall.

Do you have a recipe for a these days? I don't.

Anyway, I am glad to be here again, because I do want to share my walk with you. These pictures are recent, I took them on Sunday. I had the opportunity to visit the exhibition of a Ukrainian artist. A couple of them actually.

My route was familiar but new. It was as if known points were connected by new lines.

Here is a pile of burnt Russian iron. You have probably already seen it. But this is not the same technique as it was before. This is the rear equipment, and therefore ... you know what I mean.

DSC01988.jpg

DSC01983.jpg


And this is a memorial with the names of those who died in this war, protecting us.

DSC01984.jpg


Across the street, there is an Art Gallery. If you've been to Montmartre in Paris, you've probably seen Le Passe-Muraille - a man coming out of a stone wall. Not alive, but an art object.

So, he walks into the wall here, in Kyiv!

DSC01980.jpg

DSC01982.jpgDSC01981.jpg



In 1805, the first city theater was located here, and this square was named Teatralna (Thearal Square). Later, the theater was demolished, and the European Hotel was built in its place, and the square was renamed to European. The Soviet authorities abundantly marked their presence with monuments to Lenin, so the hotel was demolished and a Lenin museum was built on this site, and a giant statue of Lenin was installed inside. It was a museum for a short time. Now the Ukrainian House is here.

DSC01954.jpg

It is a cultural space that hosts conferences, cinema festivals, exhibits and so on.

DSC01946.jpg

Yes, the exhibition that I visited is held here. But let's skip this part. Maybe I will write a separate post about it, I'll see. So, a short pause, and move on!

DSC01947.jpg

DSC01950.jpg

Everything looks quite usual. But the difference is in the details. Above the road sign reads: "Observe the curfew. Do not ignore air raid signals!"

The last night was nasty again. I spoke with a neighbor today, he was awake that night when there was an attack by Russian drones. He said he first heard the sound of a drone and then rockets, and it was very close. Of course, I heard rocket launches, even though I sleep with earplugs.

DSC01951.jpg

When in the morning I see on the news the consequences of hitting residential buildings, great destruction, killed people... I again doubt myself if I am doing the right thing by not going to the shelter. I guess I've come to terms with what might happen. If I go to the shelter every time (which is not in my house), or let's say - every night, how will I be able to do my job during the day? It requires focus and attention, and a cup of coffee will not help here.

DSC01957.jpg


Okay, back to the beautiful things. This is the building of a Pupper Theater. It is charming, looks like a real castle from a fairy tale standing on the top of the hill.

Yeah, strolling around Kyiv is a kind of cardio :)


This building is modern, completed in 2005. This castle has beautiful turrets, a clock, terraces, many sculptures with images of fairy-tale heroes, a fountain, and a cozy square. Sounds like a real fairy tale.

DSC01956.jpg

DSC01958.jpg

DSC01959.jpg



The Water Museum is located behind it on the hill. Its building is also worth noting.

DSC01960.jpg

DSC01961.jpg

DSC01962.jpg



DSC01965.jpg

And here is the sculpture of the Lovers. This monument is dedicated to two real people, an Italian and a Ukrainian, who fell in love with each other. They were separated by the Second World War, but thanks to the TV show, they were able to meet after many years of being apart!



DSC01963.jpg

Logically. that there is a bridge next to the sculpture, and it is the bridge of lovers. Or Devil's Bridge. Also Bridge of the Insanes and Park Bridge.

DSC01966.jpg

DSC01968.jpg

DSC01973.jpg

DSC01974.jpg


This red metal sign looks old and it's definitely not lying. Thus, The Park Bridge, built according to the project of Professor E. Paton.

DSC01979.jpg

The empty stands of the Dynamo Stadium can be seen through the fence. He, like all of us, is looking forward to the end of the war.

DSC01976.jpg

DSC01977.jpg


And... the dead and. The passage is closed. We are close to the government quarter. We will have to return by the same route.

DSC01978.jpg

I went down the stairs to the Arch of Friendship of Peoples. In fact, we all know by now that this friendship was also fake.

20230709_174757-01.jpeg


Well, here we are! We did it together, and I hope you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for your time and attention.❤️

A special big thanks to @tattoodjay for hosting this great initiative!

Take care!

@zirochka


P.S. All photos are taken by me and are my own. The cover image is made using Canva.

Sort:  

Thank you for the tour. Beautiful photos.

Thanks for viewing!

I especially love the sculpture of the couple separated during the war but were reunited! It's a very touching story. Thanks for this virtual tour. I enjoyed it! God bless☺️

Their story is very touching 🧡

Thank you for your comment!

Kyiv is indeed so pretty, thanks for giving me a nice tour of Kyiv...

F..! I feel some of these shots so deep in my heart! I'm happy that those who fought protecting the country have some sort of wall where to be always remembered but I think we all know this shouldn't happen in 21st century!

Absolutely!!

Thank you for bringing us along you walk @zirocha !
Enjoy your day!
!LADY😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @zirochka and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I am grateful for your support, @silversaver888 ❤️🌻

Everything looks so peaceful, when in reality......

Kyiv, such a wonderful city, thank you for sharing its beauty in such horrid times

I noticed that they dismantled the protection of some monuments. This probably means that Kyiv is now better protected than before. We are very grateful for this to all the countries that help us endure ❤️💪🙏

there is talk that that loon leading wagner has been exterminated by putin? hmmmm! I wonder what is next.

Oh really? Not to my knowledge, probably have to check the news. The last thing I've heard is that putin has a talk with him which is ... suspicious and looks more like a play. Yeap, let's see where it goes.

The tale was he was exiled to Belarus, but hasn't been seen since his "little chat"

except yesterday's photo in underwear, which is unknown when it was taken

😂 the thought of that picture hurts my brain

Прекрасна прогулянка. Сьогодні зможу трішки насолодитись Києвом 😍. Давно, я по ньому не блукав.

Сьогодні занадто спекотно для прогулянок )

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 164 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

I hope one day I can go there.

As soon as it's safe again. Although many people come even now. Walking in the center, you can often hear English spoken

I’m new here (Hive) and I must say this is a beautiful piece❤️, I love the art works😊😊

You will love this place, I mean Hive.😉 And thank you for stopping by!

Thank you☺️

The photos are so beautiful and nice, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for dropping by, @emeka4

$WINE


Hey @theguruasia, here is a little bit of BEER from @zirochka for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Kyiv is beautiful I love that they have taken the concept from Paris of the man walking out and have him walking into that art gallery

MY heart is touched buy the memorial wall I hope and pray for peace in your country

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk :)

MY heart is touched buy the memorial wall

US President stopped by it during his last visit in May... But as the other commenter said, this shouldn't happen in 21st century.

Thanks for all your time and efforts in hosting this challenge!

Yes I do agree this should no longer be happening

Great tour - thanks for sharing

Thanks for stopping by!

hi sis, nice to meet you btw I like your photos, really your holidays are very enjoyable and it makes me happy to see your presentation too

!HUESO

Posted using Hive Images

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.


Uses: 1/2
!LOL

A blind man walks into a bar..
..and then a chair and then a table.

Credit: reddit
@suara8, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bot-bdbhueso

(1/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.