Dead Man 1995 | Film review + Soundtrack

in What To Watch4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Good afternoon. On the agenda is the film "Dead Man" 1995, directed by Jim Jarmusch.

This is one of my favorite directors and one of my favorite work of his.

I don’t like particularly cowboy themes, deserts and coal dust, but this film took a special place in the collection. The ingenious soundtrack sounds in my head to this day, despite the fact that after watching the movie a lot of time has passed. It seems to me that this soundtrack is ideal for overcoming life's difficulties.

A little about the story:
Young man William Blake (Johnny Depp) arrives in the Wild West in the hope of finding work. Circumstances are not in his favor: Blake gets into an unpleasant situation and, by chance, becomes the most wanted criminal. A reward is being announced for his head, and now everyone: from an experienced thug to an ordinary hunter, is eager to find and kill a young man. Wounded William rescues a lone Indian. After meeting his guardian angel, Blake has an unusual gift: vision like an eagle and the ability to shoot without a miss.

Why you should watch this movie:
The entire film is designed in black and white style. Despite this, it is very atmospheric and attractive. Especially a forest with dry black and white trees. It looks amazing! Very interesting work of the operator. I would take a screenshot from many frames, print it out and hang it on the wall at home as a picture.

It seems to me that, in addition to the plot, a certain philosophy is hidden in the film. By the middle of the film, it seemed to me that the main character is really dead and I am watching the adventures of his troubled soul.

Reflecting on the film, I can draw the following conclusion: We are all dead when we have nothing to lose. We are not afraid of anything. We just take and do what we have to.

image.png

image.png

Subscribe to the community with reviews and a selection of films. I hold interesting contests: https://peakd.com/c/hive-155997/