My Introduction - Hello Hive!

in OnChainArt3 years ago

My Background

I've been painting and illustrating my whole life, but my serious love of fine art begun with my two year education at Long Road, Cambridge, UK - my professor Andy Crocker was himself an accomplished oil painter. Since then I have always found enrichment in working with new and interesting mediums and subjects.

rs=w_2600px,h_1600px.webp

Early in my career I worked as a portrait artist, set designer and graphic artist; all part-time while pursuing a career in entertainment, singing, dancing and acting. I made money doing commissions between paying entertainment gigs. When I retired from dancing in my 20s, I completed a BA degree in Art & Design graduating Valedictorian with 1st Honors.

I took a break from fine art after returning to school to complete a MA degree in Computer Animation, discovering a love of animation - a subject that combines my love of art with my obsession with movement and form.

Who I Am Now

My current day job is running a small multimedia company, Pint Size Art, with my partner Rick Nuthman (@nuthman). I design mostly for the toy, entertainment and food industries. We also build websites and applications and develop and consult in marketing, web and social media; including animating and producing shorts and ads. I occasionally produce a public mural or other weird or interesting project.

Me with a hospital window installation I created in 2017

My art studio is a haven for my personal creativity, unfettered by client constraints and unhindered by deadlines.

My art is for sale online at SaatchiOnline where you can purchase prints if an original is not within your budget.

For 3 years I have had a studio at The Loft Gallery, San Pedro. But due to Covid-19, I've had to let my studio go, and return to working from my home studio until things change.

My Work

I am a traditionalist at heart, loving pencil, charcoal and oil paint. So much of my work is done using these mediums. However, of late, I've been experimenting with other mediums, looking for new and interesting ways to achieve various aesthetics. My most recent portrait work has been in colored pencil - in an attempt to see just how far I could take the medium.

I mostly depict my muse, @nuthman, as I am obsessed with his expressive and asymmetrical face. He has so many looks, no two depictions are the same! You can see one of the portraits that I did here in one of his posts. I would also appreciate your vote on foundation if you get the chance!

cr=w_730px,h_730px-1.webp

I am currently embarking on experimental work using Crayola crayons and encaustic techniques.

Traditionally, I am inspired by Mannerists like Michelangelo. I also love many Expressionist painters; Schiele, Munch, Ernst, Bacon and Freud being among my favorites.

I am also currently producing an independent animated 2D short and an animated kids' storybook app.

My Hive Journey

I am looking forward to getting involved with this fascinating community! Thank you for visiting my profile be sure to follow, as there is much more to come!

Sort:  

HIVE!D

Welcome.

Screenshot_20210327-150432~2.png

hehe, I'm not sure I understand.

Bagus

Welcome!

Oh wow. Fantastic artwork alert. Some incredible talent here, wow.

hehe, thank you so much @amphlux.

Welcome to hive! Glad to have another traditional artist here. Freud and Michelangelo are also some of my favourite artists that I am inspired from. :)

Amanda I have heard beautiful things about you from @nuthman and I welcome you on Hive, you have my vote and I think that you will do great in here.

Cheers, @creativemary! Rick has been posting my work for years now, but I haven't really had the time to start my own account. Seems like a good time to jump in!

It definetely is, I wish you success!

Welcome, and nice intro. I'm sure @nuthman has primed you on what to do here. There are plenty of other talented artists on HIVE. I'm sure you will fit in.

Cheers, mate, this is a whole new world for me. I have a lot to learn!

I had to stop using crayons. Was up to six packs a day and just couldn't handle the taste any longer.

I like what you did with those birds. I made my face.

Tell @nuthman I say, "Hello." He'll know what I mean.

haha, are you saying that your green face and red hair are a result of mass consumption of crayons? I guess technically you are a walking piece of fine art.

LOL! Yes. It's starting to get better though. Used to just look like a walking clump of melted crayons and the imagination of a toddler ten minutes before nap time.

Welcome! I hope you enjoy it here. This is a good platform to show your art and I hope you have a fun time in here. ❤️

I am seeing that! Lots of great artists here that I am looking forward to meeting. Cheers!

Welcome to hive world, you are amazingly creative. As a lad in my high school days I was an addicted art lover, I draw anything I come across, cars, football players, generators and so on but going to the university I went to study science (education biology), I really miss the art if drawing

Cheers @zoetech, very much appreciated. Creating and appreciating art has gotten me through some of the toughest times of my life. I don't know what I would do without it!

Art is as music, it gives joy and hope to keep living

welcome dear

Nice to see more oil painters on here!

It's great to see so many in one place!

The crows are a bit dark. Love the balerina feet. I can feel the effort.
Welcome to Hive, may this platform contribute you as much as you contribute us.

I'm glad you like them! I hope to publish more of my work here soon.

Super! I am following :)

wao beautiful your paintings friend @afturner, welcome to #Hive. Make yourself comfortable, this is your home.

I am glad to be in my new home!

Welcome!

Thank you!

Do you have a favorite medium for art? I tend to prefer pencil.

wow! awesome paintings! congratulations and welcome! :)

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Welcome to the Hive blockchain.
Content are king on this platform.

Thanks! It seems you are right. :)

Welcome to Hive! 😊

Great have such a talented person on the blockchain
You're very welcome Amanda
Wish you a successful stay

Welcome.
For me also I love working in pencil and charcoal more than colours. Let's all support each other in this beautiful hive platform we got. Followed

Muy buen post, me agrado la pintura, gracias por compartir.

Hi @afturner welcome and what would be better as a !BEER

Great artwork


Hey @afturner, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Welcome afturner!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com, desktop: https://desktop.ecency.com apps that helps you to connect.
Earn Points to promote and boost your content.
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

I will check it out, thanks :)

Welcome on hive!!

Congratulations @afturner! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
 3 years ago  

Hello and welcome. Looking forward to seeing more of your work. You seem to have many strings to your bow and Hive is a great place to share, even in these Covid times.

I am glad to be here! There seems to be a great community here. Everyone is so supportive! Cheers

Welcome to the Hive community!

Hi dear
Welcome to the Hive blockchain and platform, and thanks @nuthman lfor onboarding. Yes its happening you are a hiver or Bee as we are calling ourselves now. This is the moment to warm welcome you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!

I was welcomed with good advice too when I started so here I am returning the favour. I know that Hive may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be a great blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I may know the answer. If not I will know someone who does.

Very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours.
To blog i use Peakd, to control your account use Ecency, also an App I use is great, it gives you insight on what is happening in your account.

Maybe great to join the terminal in Discord and visit @heyhaveyamet to See more newcomers onboard.

Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)

GREETZ from Holland
Britt
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b
Theterminal discord invite

Good luck to you as the new arrival, may hive become your new life !

96C82424-33CC-4164-849E-C7EF9D6DC9B2.jpeg

Thanks for the welcome and the info, @brittandjosie! It is a bit overwhelming, but I am enjoying it so far. There is a lot to learn.

Welcome, @afturner!
Wow, I'm excited about your work on the portrait of your muse @nuthman! Just a bomb work!
Such a coincidence, but I also just now practiced drawing with crayons. What did he write the last articles about? It will be interesting to see your work with crayons.

Thank you, @bugavi, yeah I am interested in trying out different media that is a bit unorthodox. It will be fun sharing with the Hive community and getting feedback. As far as crayons go, I have a few different things that I am experimenting with. Hopefully I'll have something worth sharing soon. I've been a bit swamped with work projects lately.

Hopefully when you find some free time between working projects, you will share your wonderful paintings with hive @afturner🌞

Welcome here! I am happy to see your art here! I like the artpiece with ravens, it is full of energy and expeession! I am also an artist.

Thanks! I feel very welcome. I'm glad you like the ravens. I did them for a local art exhibit some time back.