Portrait study | Retrato, estudio. Digital painting + process

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

woman-portrait.jpg

Although I am in my process of self-exploration with comics, I have not left painting aside, even if it is digital painting. This week I planned to go to an art store to buy paintings, but the aggressive growth of cases of our unmentionable companion in 2020 caused my entire municipality to be closed, so I will continue to settle for digital painting, which I have quite enjoyed.

Aunque estoy en mi proceso de auto exploración con los cómics, no he dejado a un lado la pintura, aunque sea la pintura digital. Esta semana planificaba ir a una tienda de arte a comprar pinturas, pero el crecimiento agresivo de casos de nuestro innombrable acompañante del 2020 hizo que cerraran toda mi municipio, así que seguiré conformándome con la pintura digital, que bastante he disfrutado.

My digital painting studies basically consist of studying how through color we give the three-dimensional shape to painting. Here, as in many of the previous ones, I also wanted to see how light is reflected in dark skin like mine.

Mis estudios de pintura digital consisten básicamente en estudiar como a través del color le damos la forma tridimiensional a la pintura. Acá, como en muchas de las anteriores, también quise ver como se refleja la luz en pieles oscuras como la mía.

The study | El estudio

This type of study also helps me synthesize fundamental aspects of the human figure to bring them to the comic. For example, people with dark skin usually have a darker upper lip than the lower lip, and in some cases like this, the lower lip is a strong, pink color, not seen anywhere else in the world. face. These little details help me a lot when it comes to bringing character and reality to simple line comics.

Este tipo de estudios me ayuda también a sintetizar aspectos fundamentales de la figura humana para llevarlos al cómic. Por ejemplo, las personas de piel oscura tenemos, por lo general, el labio superior más oscuro que el inferior, y en algunos casos como éste, el labio inferior es de un color fuerte, rosa, que no se ve en ninguna otra parte del rostro. Estos pequeños detalles me ayudan muchísimo a la hora de aportar carácter y realidad a comics de trazos sencillos.

About the reference | Sobre la referencia

I generally work the references in a rather deformed way. Sometimes I mix the physiognomy of a face with mine, and I take a very different reference for light. The result is usually a portrait of someone who does not exist but only in my head.

Generalmente trabajo las referencias de una forma bastante deforme. A veces hago mezclas de la fisionomía de un rostro con la mía, y tomo una referencia muy diferente para la luz. El resultado suele ser un retrato de un alguien que no existe sino solo en mi cabeza.

In this case I have taken the exact reference, because I really liked the portrait, and if you click here you can see the original photograph.

En este caso he tomado la referencia exacta, porque me gustó muchísimo el retrato, y si dan click aquí podrán ver la fotografía original.

The process | El proceso

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

woman-portrait.jpg



If you like my comics, visit my Instagram comics account and support this new phase of my personal and professional life.
If you like all my art, visit my Instagram art account



I hope you enjoy. If you like it, vote for it. If you know someone who might like it, mention it. If you identify with my work, share it.

Espero que lo disfruten. Si te gusta, vótalo. Si conoces a alguien que pueda gustarle, menciónalo. Si te identificas con mi trabajo, compártelo.

Illustrations and review By ©Alejandra Her

Sort:  

I think it is fantastic that you use the skill from the one method to develop the other - no doubt it will give you a whole new "dimension" on things! Lovely piece of work too! !tip


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that encompasses ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

Thanks for your support!
Yes! traditional look-like style, like painting, is always a great reference.
Great you like it.

My pleasure :)

🎁 Hi @alejandra.her! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Opening The Door To Online Education Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I think this is really impressive

Thank you very much!

the look on her face is fantastic.

did you photograph it?

No @stevenson7 , I wish! All the credit for the pose, ligth and everything related goes to the author of the photograph and the model.
Now I'm checking the link and I'm going to correct it.

that's great.

thank you for sharing your amazing art

It's quite sad, because I found this picture in a very random way, but I couldn't find even the name of the model.

its is.

I would also try looking it up.

The depth of the gaze is just wonderful

!discovery 25

Thanks! The reference is just perfect.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

fantastic portrait!

Nicely done Alejandra!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @k-banti and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

oh dios, tus estudios son muy bonitos <3 continua adelante con lo que haces, sin dudas este compañero del 2020 frustra algunos planes pero me alegra que puedas aun asi explorar mas allá en el arte digital !
animo!

Gracias! a pesar de todo, este año ha sido creativo para mi. Saludos.

Qué buena pintura, y gracias por la explicación.

Hermoso retrato, lo hace ver tan fácil, tu técnica para dibujar se ve muy buena.

Gracias @francisftlp Con el tiempo, esta técnica es la que se me hace más fluida de trabajar.