Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ammonite ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It takes patience determination and skills to form such a masterpiece

 2 years ago  

Thank you. Sand is really a great material to play with. I always look at it like I am sketching in 3D. It allows you to work fast and can be very forgiving if you make mistakes (which I still make a lot of)

I've always been fascinated with history to a point where I even took some diplomas on contemporary history (1910 to date) a few years ago. I like reading historic novels where the story is mixed with real history, and I've read a lot of Irish folktales, but I have to admit I don't know much about the story of Ireland and Northern Ireland and the ordeals with England - I know the basics and a little bit more, but that's it. Thanks for this post, it gives people a glimpse of how things went down a century ago!


I noticed you are holding some Leo Power on @ammonite.leo, so here's a few Leo initiatives you might want to check out!

 2 years ago  

Thank you. The history of Ireland is quite complex with many different interpretations of how it all unfolded. Honestly, I am not 100% clear on it myself and history was my worst subject in school. I am just happy that now there is relative peace on the island.

As regards Leo, I thought it best to have a separate account for all things Leo related and have taken part in leopud since the start of the initiative I am gathering funds at the moment for it and am looking forward to getting a badge. I will check out the other things you mentioned.

Thanks for the history class about Ireland! Just a few weeks ago I watched the movie Belfast and got reminded about your history... I know that movies aren't a good way of learning stuff, but still, it probably has some truth in them... Like you, I can't believe that people can fight for some stupid "ideals", mostly led by idiots, and especially when it's between neighbors... Like at your place, or civil war in Spain, or anywhere on the planet... I remember when I was in my late teenage years, I was repeating to myself (and others), that I'm not a Hungarian, I am a citizen of the world! Countries are just an illusion...

Great sand sculpture! I bet it looks amazing in the real life...


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much. I am with you on the whole idea that 'I am a citizen of the world'. I had no choice in being indoctrinated into a certain country and although I am happy I live in Ireland I will not let it override my sense of self.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more