Hitchcockian - sand sculpture

in OnChainArt4 years ago



I've always loved the films of Hitchcock. As a master of the thriller genre he pretty much wrote the book on how to scare the crap out of your audience. He may have been a Harvey Weinstein type character but his art is still great.
What I most like about his stories is that they start one way and then around a quarter way in take a major left turn and become something quite different. Much like this sculpture.



The man himself

Westen Supermares 2020 project was supposed to be a celebration of English Things 'The Best of Britain' For may area I was asked to add some film and television stuff. Hitchcock immediately sprang to mind. Even though he became quite famous for the work he did in Hollywood his drole sense of humor and stiff upper lip was the epitome of England.



Now, I will confess that I am not the best at carving portraits but I gave it my best shot and was happy enough with the result. It may not have looked exactly like him but it definitely had the atmosphere of a Hitchcock about it.



And this is where the story takes a left turn. The organisers also had another few elements they wanted me to add to the composition even though they were completely out of place.



Reading and wronging

Noddy is another very famous English Character from a series of books written by Enid Blyton. Standing beside Hitchcock he made no sense although in some way his happy simile tempered Hitchcock's frown.
Even though I am Irish I really owe a debt of gratitude to Enid Blyton. It was because of her that I learned how to read.
You see, when I was in school I was a very slow learner and way behind my class when it came to reading and writing. I had a mild dyslexia and still do to this day. I was even sent to remedial class to try and sort me out. You may think that I could not have been too bad but really my first draft of this post is all underlined in red, when I am finished I will go back over it and let my spellcheck work its magic.
It was only when I discovered Blyton myself that I started to learn to read and once I got started I read every one of her books, beginning at Noddy and finally graduating to The Famous Five and The Secret Seven. They were really great and easy for a little boy to make his way through.



Other elements to include were a traffic cone, (Don't ask) and a Jaguar car. I made this in extreme perspective due to limits of the amount of sand I had and to make it more interesting for myself.



For me Hitchcock was the main element of the sculpture, the rest of the montage, although it may have made the composition more interesting really made little sense. However the word Psycho on the clapper board was maybe quite apt.





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Castlecomer mines - sand sculpture

Super Sized Nativity - sand sculpture

Ship Experiment - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Just discovered you and I am glad I did. I love it when I find/discover people who are talented - whatever art their talent(s) cover.

Gosh but you brought back memories....

A positive aspect of using sand/ice etc is that you do not have to worry about anyone destroying your works of art, but we have been conditioned to want a work of art to last forever... :)

I hope to see a lot more of your work,

Is that Noddy in that picture?

Lovely sculpture! Having dyslexia did not stop you from becoming such a great artist. Often these labels of attention deficit can be quite detrimental. I am glad to see you are one of the success people overcoming that!