Sort:  

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1157.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Well, I have to say "WOW" again! What a project! I have so many questions about your work, but I'll try to restrain myself and limit how many I ask at once. I love how you write about each work you do. It creates an encompassing picture of the whole experience. I'm really looking forward to seeing your next post using @Dlux.io.

"Time is always against me on this project and having only one day per room means you need to keep it simple and just go at it with a chainsaw."

This is hilarious and I have to ask, did you really go at it with a chainsaw as a tool, or is that a metaphor for how you worked? 😄

I see some tools in the first photo. I'm wondering what tools you use for snow? I'm picturing gouges and chisels of some type along with saws and other tools.

Really special place and incredible work done like lightening. Loved the designs you described and in particular, really like the hand and the cassette tape. I sure wish I could experience your work in person.

Have you ever done any work in Canada?

 3 years ago  

Sorry for delay, my time is not my own these days.

I might do some big lines with a bread knife first but do most of the blocking out of the sculpture with a chainsaw. Having to work so fast means that every cut has to mean something. The chainsaw makes quick work but is also very tiring. My new process is to block out one room in the second half of the day and then finish it the next day in the first half.

My favourite tools are my shovel and a cheap serrated bread knife from china, I will usually have one of these in each hand as I carve, I do have some ice chisels for detailing and texture. I also have a few other things like die grinders and rasps which come in handy.

Here are my tools and also a link to a post I wrote about them


https://peakd.com/art/@ammonite/tools-of-the-trade-ice-snow-sculpture

I have been to Canada a few times, beautiful country a cool people. This was for sand. in Harrison hot springs.

Thanks for your questions I always like to try and demystify the process. Speaking of demystifying. I still can get my head around how you made that leaf out of the mammoth tusk.
!ENGAGE20

No worries on the delay. I really appreciate the detailed reply and link for your tools. I must admit, I got lost in looking at them, then on to look at another post. Finally I decided I need to go through all your posts so I don't miss anything. 😄

I see the chainsaw you're using is a lighter one. Very interesting that you use it for roughing out. I wouldn't have thought it would be used for snow. I can imagine how tiring it would be. It must be quite a fluid process working quickly with.

Isn't it funny, how there will be these cheap tools that just fit well with what you're doing? I have some cheap ones as well.

I have good idea now of your process and tools, thank you. All very interesting. One of the qualities of the mediums you work in that fascinates me, is the temporary nature of it. I find that most appealing and it reminds me of a Japanese art form that is also temporary. I can't recall the name of it at the moment.

Ah, BC, must have been beautiful in Harrison Hot Springs. I haven't been to that part of BC. Do you have a post of the sand sculpture you did there? I'm wondering what other parts of Canada you've been to. There are lots of beautiful places here and the people vary, depending on what part of the country.

LOL, the leaf, yes, I look at it and think the same thing, no kidding. It was a slow process, shaving it down carefully. I get so into what I'm doing when creating, thinking is very distant and the process is like a meditation.

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Oh my this was quite some work. Wasn't it freezing to do such sculpting for so long? How did you cope with the low temperatures?

 3 years ago  

Hi, It can get pretty cold up there but the igloos have a temperature of around -2 most of the time even if the temp outside is -13. Snow is a great insulator and so the sweat of my work keeps me warm. The high altitude is more of a problem to deal with because of the lack of oxygen.
!ENGAGE20

Oh I see, so it is not a nightmare to be working with. I imagined that you would freeze out there lol

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

!discovery 25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program