Mermaid - sand sculpture

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)



I have been asked many times which material do I prefer ; sand, snow or ice? To be honest I love them all but when it actually comes to working with the stuff sand will usually be the one that I am most comfortable with 1. Because I have been doing it the longest and most often but 2. and this is a big number two, I hate having to work with gloves.

With sand I can use the dexterity of working with my finger nails to create an eye lid, with ice and snow I am usually dressed like an astronaut to keep warm so, I loose all that control when I make a cut and instead use my whole arm to take aim and shoot. With Ice and snow details are much more difficult and the tactile feeling of the material is something you would rather avoid if you want to keep your fingers.

In everything I do I really hate to put on gloves from working with wood or metal to fixing a dirty car. I just dulls the senses and I feel handicapped. Funny how that word describes it perfectly.

Of course my hands bear the scars of years of abuse although, luckily I still have all my fingers (touch wood!) and I have been blessed with a very quick healing skin.



This sculpture of a mermaid was made in a shopping center near Antwerp, Belgium. I was invited over for just 3 days to make it by Isabelle Decallonne and as she made another piece on the other side of the center I was asked to make a not very interesting mermaid out of these boxes of sand. Continuing on from my last post of the Stargate I felt somewhat confined in what I was making so it was never going to be more than what it was.



I did have fun and enjoyed trying to think of what a mermaid would actually look and function like. She had gills, tentacle hair and webbed hands which are my contributions to the myth. I maybe should have given her some shells to wear but they are not very good for hydrodynamics and sure, censorship is so overrated especially self censorship.



But the most note worthy thing about this project was the sand. naturally it seemed to have a lot of Lime and by the end of the three days both Isabelle's and my hands were shedding skin like we were Zombies. We probably should have started to wear some protection but the damage was already done and the project was at its end.
Luckily, after this great exfoliation my hands were as smooth as a babies bottom ready for my next piece were I knew I wanted my hands in contact with the sand.





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Stargate - sand sculpture

Churchill - sand sculpture

Hitchcockian - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  

Great piece! The skin can really be affected by this...Better wear something protective, but I can see why it would make sculpting harder

 4 years ago  

This has never happened before or since. I am usually quite careful if I am working with things that I know can be though on the skin but sand is usually quite safe.

Gotta protect those hands. They are the extention of your talent

If I acquire what I am going to acquire... these are going to be huge!

 4 years ago  

Interesting cryptic message. I hope you acquire what you want to acquire. Thanks @forykw

It's amazing what those hands can do.

The mermaid interestingly looks like a 'not very interesting' one. Great job.

 4 years ago  

Thanks @wolfofnostreet (nice name by the way). This was for sure not my best work but it was for for the time I had to do it.

 4 years ago  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Have to wonder if mers have the same body hangups as humans do XD

Glad you had fun despite feeling confined and the sculpture still looks good so there XP

es extraordinario! 😍