Tag Rugby - sand sculpture

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)



This is not my favourite type of job but it helps pay the bills. Doing commercial work which has very little creative freedom can be a bit soul destroying and in some ways it can feel a little like prostitution. For me, I really don't mind, I have no airs and graces when it comes to work. I have shoveled enough shit (literally, when I worked in a dog kennel) to think that I'm too good for any job. I've worked as a kitchen porter, washing dishes on a conveyor belt and operated a drilling rig while standing up to my knees in cow shit in the middles of the pouring rain. A job is a job but I always strived for a better one. Luckily I found a job I have a passion for and only rarely do I have to do things which feel like work like this one.

As my mother always said ' If a job's worth doing, it's worth doing well' so even if I have to make something ugly it has to be the best ugly I can do with what I have to work with.



Sex sells

Or does it? There have been a few times when I've worked on a project and they get some girls in to brighten up the photo shoot. These models usually seem really out of place to me and I wonder does it actually work to get attention.
Did you click on the thumbnail of this post for the girls or did you find the handsome guy in the photo so irresistible that you just had to see more? Yes, I thought so.
These poor girls with their fantastic faces and bodies are no match for me, whatever your sexual orientation.



Jasus! where am I going with this post? It started off one way and then it went another. I suppose when it comes to a project like this, a couple of hours on the beach in the sweltering heat and my mind turns to mush even writing about it.

The sculpture itself hasn't got much about it to document. It was just a copy of a Logo handed to me and asked to be reproduced on Banna beach, Ireland for some Tag Rugby game thingy in a couple of hours.

What's the point

I had been thinking that I could conflate and juxtapose the fact that these girls and I do a very similar job. We just attract attention and as we all know the attention economy is a big buzz phrase at the moment. These lasses and I are just using the talents we have to get more eyes to peer the clients direction. Of course, although the three of us would rather be in bed, (Separate beds obviously) than be part of this silly photo shoot on a beach in Kerry we are professionals and will do whatever is needed to put bread on our plates and leave the customer satisfied but I think I lost that somewhere along the way.

Maybe that last paragraph is enough to get my point across and maybe I should just quit while I'm ahead.



Look, lets just move along and I promise you the next sculpture and post will be better. For now here's another image of of who you came here to see.







Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Annagassan Viking - sand sculpture

Roller-Coaster - sand sculpture

Oxfam Climate change sand video

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  

You see , now i look at the sand beach and think of vacations
The sunny sky and icecreams and all feels sad in this new change
Like the tears at the end of summer

 4 years ago  

We will be back on the beaches I hope very soon. most of my work for this year has been cancelled which is a big pity. Can't wait to be back in my natural habitat.

Yeah ... hope soon and hope it will last but be ready for anything

I guess it does if you're interested soley in that? XD I get bored if there's nothing interesting XD

That sand looks like it got compacted into sandstone. Did you have curious people picking at it to see if it was actually sand? XD

 4 years ago  

I wasn't to interested in them myself to be honest, I was looking forward to getting back to see my future wife who I had met that year.
The sand looks pretty well compacted but in fact it was quite soft and drying out way too fast in the summer sun. For the few hours it was need it was fine. I much prefer to work with river of glacial sand as it is sharper and had more silt or clay to bond it together but I think you know that already.

You are amazing!

Usually happens to me too 😅 but the clients are who pays 😪 thanks for share it.

 4 years ago  

I know and unfortunately we have to let the customer think they are always right even when we know otherwise.

Ha, I definitely came to see you and not the girls xxx

 4 years ago  

Ah thanks, You say all the right things.

Babalicious photos - the one bonus! I hear you about work, been there too. About the babes: for a short time I worked in Sweden, printing centerfolds for a Scandinavian mag. The highlight used to be when the photographer came by with the models to check the proofs before production. Even got a few dates out of it.

 4 years ago  

You're a man of many talents. Must have been a very tough job in Sweden.
When I did this job I had just met my wife and she was all that was on my mind at that time. That said, I have met some stunning models through the years.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 4 years ago  


s=19

every job has risks, there are jobs that we like, but there are things we don't like in it. professionals demand it.
or will lose bread on a plate.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #845.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: