The call - sand sculpture

in OnChainArtlast year



I remember the days before mobile phones. Making plans to meet was always done ages ahead or time and if things didn't go to plan you had to wait till both parties were at a landline to find out what went wrong.

Growing up. We didn't have a phone and had to use the payphone in the local shop for communication. Arriving with a stack of coins at a certain time and then hoping that your friend would be at the other end waiting to take the call. Phones connected places and not people.

EB phone home

When one of my brothers emigrated to the US. There was a weekly call to a phone box near the local church. Anyone who wanted to chat with him from family to friends had to hang out during that evening until they had their moment at the receiver. The Phone box was chosen because it was secluded and my older brother could ask the operator in the US to reverse the charges to the pay phone. How was she to know it was a phonebox as we accept the charge to Telecom Eireann?

Signal to noise ratio

When I got my first mobile in around 1997 it was a revelation. I wrote a post about my mobile history Here To be able to connect with people and not just places was amazing. Back then of course it was an analogue connection which was a bit hit or miss. Trying to make sure you had the best signal as you moved around the device to the best angle.

Most calls back then had the fumble and then the holy words. 'Can you hear me now?? Well, that was the inspiration for this sculpture. You still hear it today but less often as technology becomes better.



A few posts back I had said that The Scream by Edvard Munch was my favourite painting and that project was obviously still on my mind as I created this sculpture at the Westen Supermare sand sculpture festival.

Looking at the painting I often mused that the character had a phone in their hand and was trying to hear the conversation while all around was loud.

I had been asked to create a 3 Dimensional version of a painting, like it was coming out of the frame and this idea came to me. I only had a day and a half to bring it together and so it is what it is. A sort of visual pun on the painting.



I really don't think it needs more of an explanation and was a fun little skit to do before I left the project.

My last three posts were from there and all were created over the span of 10 days.




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

QCHQD - sand sculpture

Suits - sand sculpture

American Sports - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

I am also starting to create NFTs of my sculptures and welcome you to my gallery where you can own a bit of ephemeral sculpture history.

Sort:  

Bahahahahahaaa that's a great take XD

I have had that in the last couple of years on occasion as I think sometimes reception in my area has been spotty (old infrastructure, needing upgrading, perhaps in some cases getting upgrading which overloaded whatever was left to deal with the overload).

 last year  

I was happy with the simplicity of this piece. A bit sacrilegious but I think it might have gotten a smile from Munch if he was still around.
We all just want to be heard.
Happy new year to you and yours.

I don't remember much about the guy (I'm pretty sure we probably had to write an essay on him or something for art in high school but I don't remember much of anything out of school) but I certainly hope so :)

I guess that's true XD

Happy new year :)

Such a great story to add to a really awesome piece of art.

Loved this the whole way through :)

You took me back to Spain. Backpacking alone. And cards and telephone booths to call home.

What an evolution and how fast, huh?

And Munch. The Scream. Nice touch!! That leaves a person with a lot to consider right there. It works incredibly well in fact 👏🏻

 last year  

Mobile phones and the internet have really made the world a much smaller place.
When I started my life as a sculptor everything was done by post and you had to be super organised so as not to miss an opportunity. Now, as long as I have my phone with me I can set off on any adventure without having to plan too far ahead. Happy new year.

And document it so brilliantly!

Yes. It's pretty incredible how far we've come!

You too, my friend. Have a great start to a new year. 💐

Wow, that's really cool. Amazing, actually!
Last year you achieved so much, and I’m so proud of you! Here's wishing you another 365 days full of success.
Wish you a very happy new year 2023!

 last year  

Thanks. Last year was a difficult one for me and try as I might I did not post as much as I would have liked on Hive. Hopefully, with this new year, I can change that. I just have to find another hour in the day.
Wishing you the best for 23.

Oh those halcyon days before mobile phones when you weren't expected to be reachable 24/7. They were the start of humanity's downfall I tell you.
Love the sculpture...very clever.

 last year  

The curse of always being reachable is a very sad thing for me as an introvert (of sorts). Christmas time is always good because most people leave me alone and don't expect an immediate response.
Happy new year Deirdy. Glad to see you back Hiving.

Are you coming back sometime......?

Happy 2023!!!

 last year  

Due to family illness, I have had to put my foreign travels on hold. I really miss it but Family comes first. I hope to start doing more projects in Ireland so I can keep my hand in the game. Happy new year.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 650 posts.
Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

Congratulations @ammonite! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

Congratulations @ammonite! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

Haha this made me so smile, Munch could not have imagined how much more WE, in this future, would have to "Scream" about lol, both literally and also figuratively and emotionally. Such is our world as we move ever into 1984 ...er I mean 2023 haha little Freudian slip there, eh? Happy New Year @ammonite

 last year  

These technologies are a blessing as well as a curse. Being contactable means there is nowhere to hide. Reducing down our interactions to just voice also leaves a lot of things unsaid.
I saw this painting once in the flesh and I was very moved. Like all communication, it really needs to be experienced live.
Have a great 2023 Donna.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 last year  

I am sort of late with this as far as upvotes are concerned, but at least I can plug it on Twitter!
~~~ embed:1622386870201061378?s=20&t=YfsCxXLcAaPvGyMPLSAfPw twitter metadata:QXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWN8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vQXJ0T2ZUaGVNeXN0aWMvc3RhdHVzLzE2MjIzODY4NzAyMDEwNjEzNzh8 ~~~