Romantism: An Amazing Commission I Handled

in OnChainArt4 years ago

1k0fjy.jpg

For most Artists, commissioned work just might be what feeds you. Atleast in-between sales of your artworks (which can take a long longer than you'd like).
Sadly, commissioned pieces come with it's own troubles. Eg. I like the form, can you do something about the colors? I don't like this revision, can you go back to the old one? You know what I think I actually prefer the new one this, let's work with that one.

Sigh

To some extent you understand why the client may be difficult, I mean, it's their money after all but the stress... Oh the stress!

Well this one didn't go that way actually. According to the brief, I would be making an album cover featuring a nude woman sitting relaxed with a butterfly on one nipple and the background should be blue.

As I mentioned. There's stress that comes with Commissions. Nonetheless it was job and it would put my skill to the test as well as improve me.

So I got started. Figured out the pose I wanted to work with and pushed on.

4di55s.jpg

Off the bat, I liked it. It was rough and the colors where pretty muddy but the mood and form was there. So it just became easier to accept and enjoy it.

qp7um8.jpg

I started to adjust the colors just a smidge. Even the background too. I hadn't started on the face because, it wasn't part of the cover. Yep, he didn't want the face included. So I had to figure something out for that.

yikr49.jpg

I figured out what I'd do for the face! Cover it up!!!! I was getting closer to what I wanted the final to look like. The tones were generally becoming darker but I felt worked out with the general vibe.

1k0fjy.jpg

And Viola. She was complete and my client was so happy. I'm also glad to say that it wasn't for waste because he released that album Romantism not long back this year! You can search it on Apple Music, Sound Cloud and even Audio Mack.

So please, I'd love to hear your thoughts.
Don't forget you can connect with me through this link

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I love the skin color and the texture of the painting itself. I can see why the client was happy. :D

Lol well it isn't fair to make a young man blush over the internet. Thank you so very much.

What a wonder, excellent composition of the drawing, also the colors are great! I love the detail of the butterfly! Sublime!

Thank you so much. It's the textures and pose that really got me excited while I was painting. I don't know about others but when that zeal hits you, the artwork just gets better!

Wow. This is amazing!

Thanks for the love. I have the client's concept to thank for this.

wow.....wonderful

lovely and so intriguing

Thank you! I only hope future Commissions are this exciting.

It's looking good. I think it actually looks more interesting without the face

I really think so too. It always came in as a bonus coz at the time I wasn't confident about the way I handled faces (I'm still a bit shaky on it till now really).

You will get better. You have the skill

There goes another person trying to make me blush on the internet. Thank you. You don't know how far that goes for me.

My pleasure. Have confidence in yourself, I can see great talent!

 4 years ago  

I had commission problems a few weeks back. Left me all funky.

This piece is really beautiful. Awesome work

I hear that. Thank you so much tho. I hope you get better ones soon. Frankly I'm hoping to be commissioned soon as things are beginning to tighten up.

Ufff men very nice work.

"What a nude paint" first came to my mind. Truly it is amazing

Thanks man!

Congratulations @artofnuel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

wonderful work, amazing to see. congrats.

WOW es un trabajo hermoso, es asombroso lo q puedes hacer con los tonos marrones, felicidades, me encantó.

👋 Hi @artofnuel, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community