Am I Really Afraid of Texture?

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Adding More Texture To My Paintings ..

Is something that has always challenged me. I think my style is more flat.. if that is a good word choice. I was reading @lymepoet's post today called
JAZZ SERIES - Original Acrylic Paintings. Her use of texture reminded me that I need to explore this technique more. It has been an area of the art process that I have rather ignored although I can appreciate it in other peoples work. Why is that? I suppose if I fear it then avoidance is the result.

It Could Be Fun ..

adding texture to my paintings. I'll give it a try. I don't know exactly where to start, so maybe I can begin with a few photographs of a toll that I hardly ever use. One that can be used for mixing paint, and applying it to give texture. The Palette Knife!! So this tiny post acknowledges that I DO own a tool to help me overcome my fears and that it also photographs well.. maybe better than a painting, using the tool, would come out. It's a good start.. My acknowledgement of it's existence!! I wounder what else I have lying around??? Trust me, you may not want to know the answer to that question.

I was playing around with the depth of field on these shots, so each one.. although similar.. are a slight bit different.

This first one, I like because of the reflection. There's a double reflection there, because of the thickness of the glass it was resting on when the photo was taken. I shot all of these with the knife resting on my large glass palette, so the reflections appear in most of them.

IMG_1035cd.jpg

A little bit over exposed

IMG_1034.JPG

IMG_1037x.jpg

IMG_1037.JPG

IMG_1040.JPG

Maybe the handle end isn't as unique as the knife end, but it still has a little detail and interest present. The finish is starting to peal off of it and ends up on my hand.. when I do use it.

IMG_1041.JPG

IMG_1039.JPG

IMG_1038.JPG

An Example ..

Before I leave you to your Saturday, I thought I would look through my pieces and find one with a little texture. This small painting of sunflowers contains some layers or texture. The petals are a bit raised because I decided to apply the paint a bit thicker than I normally would. It took a log time to dry, but I am thinking it looks much better than it would have if I painted it flat. Maybe this is something more easily done with acrylics.

Sunflowers 2.jpg

text16.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

text16.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

text16.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

text16.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, @c-squared, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

text16.png
text16.png

IMG_3878.JPG

“I loved you with texture. You loved with a softness. Texture brought detail, softness brought folds. Folds brought creases and creases had secrets.”

― Dominic Riccitello

text16.png
text16.png

Sort:  

I liked the painting. The colour of the petals and its light texture made me think of Van Gogh`s sunflowers. ;0)

Did you try modeling paste for texture? You can mix it with the paint, or you can leave it to dry and paint on it. Either way, it can help create really nice texture.

Can you mix modeling paste with oil paints? Letting it dry then painting over it is an option for sure.. out of my comfort zone! lol.

The texture really helped the painting look better. Again.. Loved the quote.. You always put such lovely quotes at the end of your posts, a detail which I really like.

Awww 😊 thank you. I was wondering if anyone ever read those. Guess I have my answer. 😁 I appreciate you saying something. It will keep me going.

Welcome! I do like it and keep it, it is this very detail which makes your posts stand out😊