Logo Design : Ragnarok Logo Contest

in OnChainArt2 years ago

 "lead4.jpg"

Hello beautiful people how you all doing ? Hope you're all doing well! First of all thanks @Ragnarok.game for this opportunity! It's been long time since last time I got a logo brief and this was the right call to get back to it.I was a bit rusty but I could finally be able to pull it out! Had so much fun while doing that so I wanna share the process with you all!

raw sketch2.jpg
First I started with raw sketches to turn the brief to primitive shapes.I took "Repetition - Myths - Conflict -Realms" I didn't want to dive fully into Norse mythology because of the title because that would narrow the design and I don't like to be stuck in single dimension.I did a shape research for Vegvisir(Nordic Compass) ,some shapes from easterm myths/culture and modern interpretation of the headlines.Sketched them out roughly in Photoshop without worrying.I thought horizontal vegvisir might be a good start and meanwhile auroboros and moon phases took my attention too.

raw-sketch3.jpg

After that I took my base to illustrator to see how flat vectors would work.My first choice as a font was "Rebel" .Horizontal Vegvisir was working but keeping it with Letters was an overkill it bothered me alot.So I decided to go with a framed and more grounded design.Meanwhile with a lighting struck I thought alignment of the stars might be a good idea too.So I started to mix moon phases,vegvisir and start alignment with some extra oriantalist spicee.I finally found the one that I like.I was like ok this one can represent the repetition but I wanted to put something about "conflict" I didn't need to go much further because auroboros was there and my name's meaning is the same too so i decided to put a personal touch to it.After 2 days of trials with colors and clean shapes I finally reached the flat result!! yayy!

onwhite.jpg

onblack.jpg

Now it was time to Compositing, the fun part ! I took it to photoshop and start playing with layer effects.I wanted to reach some rusty bronze/gold and space influence on design.In this phases it's way more confusing to explain because I was going back and forth with layer effects (Bevel&Emboss,outer glow,inner glow)

final process 1.jpg
final process 2.jpg
After Finding the rusty gold it was time to make it rusty.In this process I used layer modes(color balance,hue&saturation,curves) and some texture I made in photoshop to make the reflections less static.
final process 4.jpg
Background of the frame started to remind me some liquid/portal thing.So I wanted to mix it with some space depth.

final process 5.jpg

I was a bit bothered with warmth colors.I wanted to add some contrast colors.After 1 day break and commissions I pushed myself to limits and reached the colors I wanted.Added some extra lens flare and purples in it I was like ok there are nothing left to push but I gave it one extra day to decide.Because even if Im super happy with the result I was second guessing. And guess what I got way more hyped on the other day!

x.jpg

xx.jpg

final process 6 final.jpg
And here is the final vector and final file is ready to ship! It felt great to go out comfort zone and compete in this community event! Kudos to all participants and hope you guys liked it.Hopefully I could give some inspiration about my process to you all If you got questions feel free to ask.Thanks once again @Ragnarok.game!

My;
Instagram

Artstation

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What am I gonna do with such beautiful entries to this contest.. This came out great. Well done.

Duude you just release yours and I will quit!! thank you so much!

oh wow, that blue really bumped it up to the next level! amazing work : )

Thank you so much! Yeah I was stoked with the golden version but after one night sleep I was like "ok this needs a bit more spice" glad I took that turn :)

deeeefinitely
top marks for the extra push ;)

I was strolling through the chain and I came across your post… this is 🚀🚀… Ill definitely drop my own design very soon… I hope I dropped before the contest end..

thank you glad you like it!!