Park in Pulkovo (watercolor painting)

in OnChainArt2 years ago

Hi friends!

Sometimes photos of my friends inspire me.

_.jpg

Once I saw my friend from Golosa have an amazing photo that she took while walking in the city park

These are the materials that I used for this drawing - a set of watercolors, a synthetic brush and masking fluid from Sennelier
For this drawing, I decided to use Canson cotton watercolor paper.

_.jpg

I apply masking fluid to areas of churches - I want them to shine white against an overcast sky.
Then, when the liquid is dry, I wet the sheet of paper on both sides.
On next step I mix ultramarine and ocher, this combination of colors gives a pleasant gray-blue color, similar to the color of rain clouds.

_1.jpg

To paint the water I mix cobalt and ocher and some dark green.
Immediately, before the paper is dry, I draw reflections of buildings and trees in the water.

_2.jpg

To draw the right bank, I take grass green, red ocher and cadmium orange.
I also add cadmium yellow and dark green to the trees.
I add birds to the water with burnt sienna

_3.jpg

To paint the left bank, I mix grass green and some cadmium red to create a mild swampy shade.
I paint the forest in the background with the same colors that I took for the trees, but more transparent

_4.jpg

When the paints are completely dry, I erase the masking fluid and paint the domes and roofs, windows and shadows on the churches.
I also add a bridge between the shores and birds in the sky with a mix of ultramarine and burnt umber

Here is such a picture with a melancholy mood turned out.
I liked drawing on cotton paper.
The colors are rich and vibrant!
It so pleasant to draw!

_.jpg

I hope you'll like my new drawing.

Regards