Pines and flowers (watercolor art)

in OnChainArt2 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

Today I've another watercolor spring landscape

_.jpg

I use my own photo as a reference.
I liked these two pine trees, illuminated by the sun.
I decided to change the plot a bit, add dynamics and more details that characterize spring.

Art materials
Today I also used white gouache in my work to show a new drawing technique.

_.jpg

I start work from the background, this is the sky and the earth somewhere near the horizon.
For the sky I mix cobalt blue and ultramarine, and for the earth I add ocher.
I leave the lower right corner partially unpainted, there will be remains of snow

_1.jpg

With the same paints, with a thicker composition, I draw trees in the background.
Somewhere I add more blue, somewhere more ocher. Closer to the ground on the trunks I add natural sienna.
I deepen the shadows in the ravine where the snow lies
For the image of a hill where pines grow, I take cadmium yellow, ocher red cadmium orange and the same ultramarine (for the shadow side)

_2.jpg

So... To create clouds in the sky, I use this method - I apply drops of pure water to the sky area so that the paint is slightly washed out.
Then I create the shape of the clouds with a clean dry brush.

_3.jpg

I make shadows on the clouds with the same mix of cobalt and ultramarine
When the paper dries, quite realistic clouds are obtained.

_4.jpg

Now the pines.
They will be slightly tilted, as if from the wind.
It looks very nice and dynamic.
For the image of trunks, I take yellow ocher, red ocher and natural umber.
And for crowns I mix grass green, yellow-green, ocher and cadmium yellow.
Secret: to keep the green from being too saturated, I add a drop of cadmium red to it to achieve a natural green color.

_5.jpg

To make the hill beautiful and blooming like spring, I add different tones to its different areas - somewhere pure cadmium, somewhere cadmium with orange, somewhere more red, somewhere brown.
This is a completely intuitive process.
For green areas, I mix cadmium yellow and grass green colors.
Secret: to keep the green from being too saturated, I add a drop of cadmium red to it to achieve a natural green color.
I also add ultramarine to the shady sides of pines and drop shadows from them.
I also add shadows under the trees near the distant forest and near the snow in the ravine

_6.jpg

And finally, the most fascinating drawing technique is spraying.
I dip the end of a flat brush in white gouache and lightly tap it against the other brush so that the splatter falls onto the paper.
Important: so that the splashes fall on the area that I need, I cover other parts of the work with pieces of paper.
In the same way, I spray a green watercolor mix on the pine crown area to increase the dynamics of the drawing.
And I add more a flowers another colors on the hill by individual strokes of a round brush

_.jpg

Here is such a windy and bright spring landscape I got today!
Have a creative spring day to all!

Regards

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!
Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!
Keep on creating great quality content and !1UP to you!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...

Thanks for support!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stickupcurator(7/10) tipped @daring-celt (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @stickupcurator!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@ccc-curator, @neoxag-curator, @pal-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.

Thanks for support!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @daring-celt.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more