The Window in Gloxinia (oil painting)

in OnChainArt2 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

Thinking about drawing spring flowers, I saw an interesting photo on the Internet - a window entwined with gloxinia flowers.
I decided that I like this story!

_.jpg

Oil paints here would be the most suitable material.
Today I used a new set from Germany
And two synthetic brushes of cause!
Instead of canvas, I use special paper for oil and acrylic.

_.jpg

Reference

I changed the shape of the window because I don't like the sharp corners that don't work well with the delicate clusters of flowers.
And outlined the line of plants

_1.jpg

I start from the background.
This is a jagged old textured wall.
To write it, I mixed red vermilion, yellow ocher, whitewash.
I added viridan green here and there in some areas to get a neutral taupe color, reminiscent of a concrete surface.

_2.jpg

The window, according to my plan, will be the same main element as the gloxinia branch.
Therefore, I take saturated colors for her - grassy green and cerulean blue.
In order to draw glass, I take ultramarine and a mixture of green and ocher - as if a reflection of the sky and greener.
With a mix of the same colors, I draw a falling shadow from the window on the wall.

_3.jpg

In order to draw clusters of gloxinia, I make several mix of colors - vermilion red, ceruleum blue, ultramarine, crimson red and white.
Distant clusters will be colder tones, lilac, and those closer to the viewer will be lavender.
For a dark trunk, I take burnt umber and ultramarine.

_4.jpg

At this step, I decided to work with the texture of the wall - I added more texture, detailed a fragment of brickwork, somewhere I smoothed out sharp color transitions more.
Made the lower part of the wall, near the flowers, darker

_5.jpg

Small details remained - glare on the window, on the trunk of the plant and on the flowers
I make clusters of flowers more voluminous.
I form a more realistic green over them - using the same green and ocher (I add ultramarine in the shadows).
Here and there I make deeper drop shadows from the plant on the wall and shade the window from the flower greens.

Here is such a new picture with a spring mood I got today!

_.jpg

Thanks for your attention!

Have a nice and creative spring day!

Regards

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @daring-celt.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more