Black is Beautiful | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago

I think I may have slightly suffered from artist's block.

In my previous post, I did say I was working on some WIPs (that do not seem to get closer to the finish line any sooner). I blame it mostly to my high tendency to be distracted and get bored easily. My brain is always in overdrive and speeding up way faster than my limbs can, so I can see what I wanted my work to end up as before I can even execute it.

And I'll think, "Why bother drawing this anyway, when it's already drawn in my imagination?" Does that make sense?

Regardless, I ended up starting another work that, well, I completed (thankfully). It's another portrait. (Someday, I'll try to find interesting portraits with male models).

Drawing Black is Beautiful

I love the original portrait photography from which this drawing is based. I found it (again) on Pinterest and realized that it was literally an award-winning creative portrait by portrait and fashion photographer Jai Mayhew. I hope I did her work justice in this digital painting.

I enjoyed drawing her. If I were to choose my favorite and least favorite parts to draw in this piece, however, I'd say it's the face and the white lilies, respectively.

While I love flowers so much, drawing them can be a bit too tedious for me. I don't know why!

I worked on a split screen again (except when I was sketching) because of work running on my laptop, which I usually use as second screen. Unfortunately, I couldn't trust my eyes when viewing the reference in my laptop when coloring. (My phone and laptop's display settings are sooo different, that using either for reference viewing can change saturation big time.)

At any rate, coloring her was an enjoyable task. Except when I was coloring the flowers. But I think they still ended up OK!

To be fair, I don't think the flowers in my drawing looked all that bad, except I just didn't have fun doing them. Hahaha!

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); smudge; blur

Notes

One of my best friends got married the other day. She is in Italy, while I and our other best friends are here in the Philippines. The four of us hadn't talked in literally 3 years except for the occasional and random chats.

This best friend of ours (the bride) always reminded me of white tiger lilies because she's fair-skinned and really pretty. So she definitely crossed my mind when I found the reference portrait photograph of this piece. :)



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

Very creative best artwork

 4 years ago  

Thank you! 😊

Welcome dear. p;ease visit my blog

It really perfect! I must confess, my favorite part also is the face and the white lilies as well

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked them, too. ❤️

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

 4 years ago  

Hey, thank you so much! This means a lot. ❤️

Oh that's unbelievable! really great drawing!

 4 years ago  

Hahaha! Thank you so much! ❤️

Great drawing can one achieve something like this without a pen?

 4 years ago  

Hi, thank you! 😊

can one achieve something like this without a pen?

Hmmm, I can't say for sure, as I haven't tried. I might look into it one of these days. On laptop, however, I know it's doable even without a graphics tablet. :)

 4 years ago  

I have the same problem of color and value disparity between my laptop and Samsung tablet. But what I've chosen to do is be spontaneous with my colors and values choices. Sometimes I get surprised by what comes out.

Nice work!!!

 4 years ago  

Thank you! ❤️ I sometimes also just choose to be spontaneous, but 8 out of 10 times the works look dead when I transfer them to other devices LMAO. I'm slowly getting the hang of it now, though, and it challenges me to make my colors look good in as many devices possible. xD