Caught | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago

I'll say this again — I think I'm now a solid Stefan Gesell fan.

I've drawn two of his photography works so far, and they hadn't been easy. And still, though, those two that I have drawn seemed to be his simplest works yet. Definitely not as complex as the rest of his projects are. Suffice to say, I'm now seriously attracted to creative portraits like Gesell's works are.

Another search on Pinterest with the keyword "Stefan Gesell" resulted to quite a lot of complex photographs (and some that I am definitely unable to draw yet), and came across this body art photography by Russian photographer, Mickhail Nekrasov (content warning: his works are generally NSFW, so proceed with caution when checking his portfolio).

The piece was originally entitled MANTRA.

Caught

But I'm calling the digital painting that I did Caught, mainly because it is characterized by a web in the background. (Spiderman, who?) I was trying to figure out why Nekrasov et. al called their piece MANTRA, though, and I think I have a vague idea.


More than anything, I had quite a lot of problems drawing the balls hanging off her hair and those stuck on her fingers. My impatience was once again running and I ended up having zero interest correcting details.

I enjoyed drawing her, though, especially the hair. I was giggling to myself imagining a burnt-into-charcoal croissant because that was what the hair looked like to me.

The background was unexpected. Totally unexpected. It was made of two radial light gradients with solid dark background, and I wasn't expecting any texture. But... Snapseed just keeps surprising me and the texture that I had been looking for... suddenly was just there when I adjusted the final drawing. I liked it, actually, and it was a pleasant accident.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); blur

Notes

I was supposed to post a random blog earlier instead of this drawing just to update what I had been up to lately, but I didn't want to break the drawing streak. The supposed post had the tentative title "Of Twitching Thumb and Eternal WIPs."

Twitching Thumb

My right thumb had been twitching uncontrollably for days now, and had grown worse starting yesterday. It doesn't always twitch, but when it does, it starts to get in the way, kinda. Last night, I woke up quite a number of times because of the twitching.

Eternal WIPs

They're eternally in progress. And I keep wondering when I will have the motivation (and inspiration) to actually face them and finally dot all Is and cross all Ts. 😅 You have no idea how many they are in my MediBang's gallery right now.



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

 4 years ago  

Thank you!! 😊