Choose | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago

It had been raining heavily in the last few days. The crazy bed weather just made me want to go and snuggle on my pillows and just sleep the whole day, effectively not doing any work. Yikes. As if Spotify knew what was up, it went ahead and played some really sad songs to dampen the mood.

I wanted to do something about it.

Choose

She keeps a daily mood jar to choose from on a day-to-day basis. He picks, then picks again, then picks again, until there was nothing left but the bad, ugly pieces.

Suddenly, he's faced with the predicament of choosing the lesser of both evils. Both weeping, both thirsty for life, but only one should make it.


Choose on NFT Showroom

I realize that I love it when people give their own take on my work. How do they see it? Without me getting out that one-sentence line in the description, what do people think the story behind the art is? If you are to interpret this work, what would you say?

This piece is available at NFT Showroom in three editions!

Drawing Choose

This work was really enjoyable to paint, albeit a little complicated. My short attention span made it difficult for me to focus on adding the deails.

Sketching this wasn't as enjoyable as I was hoping, though. I wanted to add many things, and then remove something, then add again. There was an image I wanted to create, but it was difficult to put it together. I finally settled with one after more than an hour of contemplation, though.

The concept revolves around choosing something and reminds me of 365 letters in a jar (or something of that sort). The jar and the hand were automatically part of the drawing, but the rest, I had no idea how to include.

I have finished The Haunting of Bly Manor a couple of days ago, and one of the striking features of the show was how the ghosts littering the manor were faceless. Over the course that the ghosts were stuck in the manor, their memories fade along with their faces. They lost their identities. I wanted that in my drawing. I wanted it to reminiscent of that - that the longer you consciously choose what you will be in a day, the more aggressive your loss of actual identity becomes.

In the end, I went for a pale, almost fading mask. One eye was missing.

The next thing I needed to come up with was something to compare the "mask" with. Something beautiful, but also terribly ugly. I thought of a flower (again, hahaha). I love flowers, I just don't like drawing them. One of my favorite flowers (if not the favorite) is sunflower. The university I was living in before the pandemic would line up the University Avenue with three lanes of sunflowers every graduation season.

They were beautiful and bright. But once it all ends, they are so withered and ugly and leave the land they were planted on barren.

The colors were quite difficult to decide. I wanted it dark, but I wanted it light, too. There were so many things I wanted to happen in the drawing, but I couldn't really put them in a final product.

Towards the end, I decided to add some noise (with Photoshop). I liked the effect it gave. It made this more worthy of becoming my most meaningful work so far... I think.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); blur

Notes

The other day, I was stuck. I didn't know what to draw. I tried to find references, but none interests me. Perhaps there were a few, but they were too complicated for my short-tempered self to commit to. So I slept and decided to try again the next day. My niece was teasing me and said deciding on what to draw couldn't be that hard. But it is! I felt like I have tried as many things I wanted to try, but still not quite.

She amazes me. We were on Zoom call the other day and we decided to draw together. She came up with one in a matter of few minutes. She said I could draw rainbows. Or scary cat (or smth like that). Just... just draw.



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Hurricane Rider 🌪 from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

this post was cured by @theia7

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

I almost didn't believe that this is a drawing, just perfect and beautiful