Copper | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago

I'm excited to share this drawing. This is the first time in a long while that I drew two people in a single frame. Granted, the woman in the background is blurred, but I actually painted her with more details than I can imagine before going full Gaussian blur on her.

In an earlier post, I said something about loving anything gold, brown, bronze. I get so attracted to those colors and everything beautiful relating to them, so when I found this photograph on Pinterest — the haven of everything interesting — I can't say no to that sudden urge to draw.

Copper

The reference picture shows two people facing different directions, with one basked in light and the other in shadows. It was actually a little too dark for my liking, so I had to do some brightness adjustment to make it easier to color.

If I were poetic, I'd say something about star-crossed relationships being depicted, but I'm not, and it's probably a very random picture taken by someone who found the right timing and opportunity. Nevertheless, it was beautiful, and I wanted to translate it to a drawing.

Drawing Copper

I decided I should start with the background, and the background included the woman. Blurriness aside, it was apparent that she was pretty, and I didn't want that to be lost in translation. I tried my best to paint her, and almost thought it was a waste of effort because I would filter her with Gaussian blur, anyway.

Then I did the man next. Unlike my latest drawings, I started and finished the skin and face first before moving on to other parts like the hair and outfit. No particular reason except I was getting impatient and want to see him finally have an identifiable face.

Almost belatedly, I realized that the shadows on his cheek and jaw weren't exactly just shadows. They were actually there because of his stubble. I couldn't add them by hand even if I tried, so I looked for a textured brush that would be perfect.

I couldn't find any existing brush that would give me the desired effect, so I settled with oil pastel. It wasn't as obvious, but it was there.


Finally completing him, I find that his edges were too sharp in contrast with the woman in the background. I normally smooth the edges using the blur tool, but only on select parts. Here, I smoothed everything from his hair down to his clothes.

The coat he was wearing had a furry texture to it, and I have not an iota of idea how to pull it off. Somewhere along the way, though, after some random scribbling here and there, it gave an effect I was looking for somewhat, and decided not to paint on it any more than I already did.

The overall experience drawing and coloring this was refreshing. I'd never drawn something like this before, where there was too much light and too much shadows encompassing two individuals. Almost like a movie, I'd say.

This drawing took some five or six hours span over the day and last night. I lost count.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); pen (100% opacity); oil pastel (varying opacity); blur

Notes

I'm still searching for my next reference, and thinking about creating a fan art instead. My last fan art had been on Princess Mononoke, where I experimented with a drawing style that didn't work out for me. I was thinking of another Studio Ghibli fan art, but can't identify which Hayao Miyazaki movie I'd take. I'm also into Monster again (seriously a classic everyone should know about), and wondering if I should draw a DTIYS Johan Liebert.

Do you watch anime? What's your favorite?



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

@tipu curate :)

 4 years ago  

thank you for this! 😍

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Hurricane Rider 🌪 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 4 years ago  

thank you so much! ❤️

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!
 4 years ago  

thank you so much!