Digital art with Note 10 Plus - The Girl and White Flowers

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Since the start of the quarantine period, I have been exploring drawing styles I couldn't quite get into while wielding just a laptop and its own touchpad. (If you're interested, you can see how I do my digital arts with just a touchpad here.

In essence, I think I know how to paint -- traditionally. Digital painting is another story, and it has always been something I wanted to learn.

The past few days, I have been sharing some of my works with the Note 10+ here. Let me share another one I did at 6 am this morning (someone's excited). I think I am a little prouder this time.

158958475928802.jpeg

The Girl and the White Flowers

App used.

The app used in this digital work is MediBang Paint for Android. It is free and relatively easier to use compared to other apps. It also has more options, especially if you are used to using Photoshop for digital arts.

MediBang Paint logo. Image Source

Brushes used.

For this work, I used the pencil brush (100% opacity), pen brush (100%, 40% opacity), watercolor brush (40% opacity), airbrush (37% opacity).

Base sketch and color.

The pencil brush was used for the sketch. It is light and feels smooth to use.

Base color was filled in using the pen tool. I added a little more depth using the airbrush.

With the watercolor brush, I added even more dark colors to areas where I think shadows would go. This is especially true with the skin. As for the hair, I used the pencil brush instead. I traced the brush where the hair strands should flow.

I felt like the whole thing still looked "pillow-y", so I used the the pencil tool again to add shadows that would have sharper edges. I am not quite confident in using the smudge tool just yet -- I end up overdoing the smudges sometimes, making an even more "pillow-y" look, which I hated.

More details

Finally, I drew in the face and added more lines that would define the face's shape. I truly enjoy painting on the eyes, it just makes the drawing more alive.

I keep having troubles with the mouth/lips. That just adds to my many things to improve on. Just to make sure that the drawing still looks all right when it's in reverse, I flipped the drawing horizontally to check. I thought it was good enough!

The White Flower

I initally stopped at that. I removed the sketch and thought I was done. However, it felt too bare. So I added a few flower ornament on her hair, with falling white petals to boot! All of those were added on with the pencil brush.

1589584759288.jpg

Then I dozed off

Since I drew this as soon as I woke up at around 6 am, it was quite expected of me that I would doze of for a while. Which I did. When I woke up again, the drawing felt too pale.

Well, it is pale! So I opened up my Snapseed and adjusted the curves for a more vibrant color.

Now that's another one of my weaknesses! Colors!

Final notes

Regardless of any other mishaps, I'm still proud of this one. I am looking forward to improving on digital painting. I hope that in the future, I would be less afraid on trying out more things. I hope to get there someday.

Sort:  

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Que bonita es, me recuerda un poco a un personaje de un anime llamado evangelion.

so pretty artwork...

 4 years ago  

Thank youuu! 😊 Also, welcome to Hive!