[Timelapse] Over there | Drawing with the Note 10 Plus

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

In an earlier post, I said I wanted to improve my art by undertaking works that are conceptual in nature, especially in those that pique my interest: fantasy, steampunk, and even cyberpunk. The challenge revolves around how bad I am in painting backgrounds and choosing my colors. I am also incredibly impatient.

I think it matters a lot that I am interested in the art I make for me to be able to complete even one.

Yesterday, I started to work on this piece that takes inspiration from the cyberpunk genre.

Over there

The goal was to create full colored drawing with background. I really wanted to draw super cool cyberpunk art, but for someone who's still in the process of learning, I have to settle with simple. I wanted to try everything that got my interest in the concept -- the contrast in colors: the pinks, the blues, and the blacks.

For me to conceptualize what I wanted to draw, I did some quick search on Pinterest for reference photos to play around with. I found the following:

The text in the store banners on the reference background picture were in Korean; I imagined the setting to be in Japan, though, so I googled Japanese cities (I was especially interested in Ikebukuro) for store signage texts. I bet some of the texts I'd written weren't accurate, but it wasn't for a lack of trying!

The Sketch

This one took a long while. Because I never really had to deal with backgrounds in prior drawings, perspective was especially difficult despite having reference.

At one point, I had to forgo some details (I was already imagining how difficult it would be fore me to paint over).

It was the girl that I really enjoyed drawing. Compared to the background, the girl only took up a small portion of the over all drawing. I didn't have to sketch so much details.

I initially drew her with these round eyeglasses, but somewhere during the painting part, I completely overlooked that part. I thought it looked OK even without the glasses, so I let it be.

Digital painting

I started with the background by applying highlights to places that should be illuminated and shadows to the parts that should essentially be darker. In hindsight, I think this could also serve as lighting practice.

The stores and signage. It is, without a doubt, generally about the street more than the girl. While I am really uncomfortable doing backgrounds, I think I enjoyed this one (kinda). But my most favorite part here was the ground. I don't know why I had so much fun with it.

I didn't put much attention to the girl. I think my attention was too into the background that I just generally went over the girl with less care than I normally would.

I had a lot of plans for her at the start, though, which obviously didn't take place haha.

What surprised me most was how the transparent umbrella turned out. I actually really liked it! The raindrops part was essentially a lucky shot -- I didn't think it would turn out the way it did.

It turned out to be glowy because of two things:

  1. I duplicated the layer containing the raindrops;
  2. I applied Gaussian blur filter on the duplicate layer.

I wanted to play around her more, but I was afraid she just suddenly won't fit the picture.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); smudge; blur

Timelapse

(I wasn't planning to record anything, but when I was starting to paint the background and was beginning to like it, I eventually did xD So please excuse the fact that the recording started quite a while after I began coloring.)


▶️ Watch on 3Speak

Notes

When I was a kid, I really liked the color yellow. As I grew older, I got really attracted to both pink and purple. Sometimes, dark blue. What's your favorite color?



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram

Sort:  

I love this! And the feel of the painting too.
Really like how you left the umbrella slightly translucent 🧡🧡
Keep it up!

 4 years ago  

Aaaah! Thank you so much! ❤️😊

increíble trabajo y solo en el teléfono note 10 plus.

 4 years ago  

I don't really speak or understand Spanish, but thank you! ☺ Muchas gracias. ❤

This looks nice! I love blue purple and green. The umbrella came out good!

 4 years ago  

thank you! ❤

Welcome😊

You're a great artist.
What do you think about the new normal?

 4 years ago (edited) 

thanks!

What do you think about the new normal?

mentally taxing. 🥴

Our leaders imposed some measures that reduce our liberties so they have the burden of proof.

What's the proof for the invisible enemy?

looks gr8!!! keep it coming!!!

 4 years ago  

thank you! ☺

 4 years ago  

This was extremely good. I love the detail explanation, i guess that was a hell of a work. Thanks for sharing your art with us.

 4 years ago  

Heyyy! Thank you so much! It did take so much time. 😅

That's awesome! I never had the patience to draw background. Love that she's in the streets of Japan. hehe

 4 years ago  

thank you! i'm also really impatient and have a short attention span, so drawing backgrounds is a tedious task for myself. lmao. i really love the aesthetics of japan (and look forward to visiting it one day) and i guess that bears more inspiration to do this xD

Haha you're right! Sometimes the quality of drawing depends on the level of interest.
I'd love to go to Japan too someday! 😃