Girl in Yellow | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago

This is going to be a pretty quick post as I'm sleepy but I just really wanted to get this one out. This was one of those WIPs I had last month. I only did the sketch and line art, but I never really moved forward with it.

The reference has since been in my Pinterest and only seen me paying attention to it today. It was a girl with brown hair in a yellow shirt surrounded by groves.

Drawing Girl in Yellow

I started drawing in the middle of the day, after a quick meeting I had for work. Just out of sheer curiosity, I started working on the hair first after doing the background. If I wasn't curious, I would have started with the face. But I thought that if the hair didn't turn out well, then this would be scrapped for another day.



I thought the hair looked OK enough, so I went on and painted the face. It was challenging because of the leaves' shadows hovering on her face. I initially went with a solid brown for those shadows and set the blending to multiply, but I didn't get the desired effect. In the end I colored over it with a solid black, then just changed the layer opacity. Not quite ingenious but it somewhat worked (albeit not nicely).

I'm not sure I liked how the blending on the skin turned out, so I'll probably fix it and update this post tomorrow when I try to polish it.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); pen (100% opacity); blur

Notes

I was painting majority of this while watching episodes 3 through 5 of The Haunting of Bly Manor, and this time, I think I was a little braver. The distraction of having something to work on while half attentive to the show helped me curb my anxiety on the show.



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

Tu post ha sido votado por @CELFmagazine, una iniciativa autónoma en favor del contenido de calidad sobre arte y cultura. Apóyanos con tu voto aquí para mantener y mejorar nuestra labor. Nuestra comunidad es #hive-111516

Your post has been upvoted by @Celfmagazine, an autonomous initiative in favour of quality content on art and culture. Support us with your vote here to maintain and improve our work. Our community is #hive-111516

discord